Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Mix
0

21 posts in this topic

Hubby and I made tacos with the Low Sodium Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Mix and I got sick as a dog. (Pretty sure it was the seasoning b/c I tried eating just the meat again and sure enough - sick for a second day.) !!! I had checked their website and some reviews of the product and everyone said it was gluten free. Tho when I searched *this* site, someone warned against the mix and said to use the bottle sauce - but didn't give a reason. Is there something I was missing in the ingredients?

Here they are for reference:

Maltodextrin, chili pepper, salt, onion powder, spice, MSG, modified corn starch, garlic powder, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, silicon dioxide & ethoxyquin

Ewww...MSG and partially hydrogenated anything. I hate reading ingredients. Anyway, I'm a little confused. Maybe it's the MSG? But I've never noticed a problem with anything else... By the way, we used the bottle sauce this past weekend and were fine. YAY! Hubby makes GREAT steak tacos!

We're going to stick with the bottle sauce from now on, but I'd still like to know what it was that made me sick! Any thoughts?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

We use the bottle of Old El Paso taco sauce. It works great and tastes great. MSG is so bad for your body. It could have been that.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My son has celiac disease and I make him stay away from MSG and maltodextrin. I think there are mixed opinions on the maltodextrin but I was told to stay away from it. Good luck

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
My son has  celiac disease and I make him stay away from MSG and maltodextrin.  I think there are mixed opinions on the maltodextrin but I was told to stay away from it.  Good luck

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Maltodextrin in the U.S is fine unless stated otherwise on food labels. This is a law they MUST follow. That is only with food however, medications are different but with food it IS safe and will tell you if it is not.

Could have been MSG. Even though MSG is gluten free it is so bad for your body.Maybe there is some at a health food store to get without those ingredients.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I just had that tonight too! And I just had horrible diarhhea. Weird. <_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Alot of ppl have celiac disease like reactsions to MSG, so thats where I would put the blame. MSG is bad for everyone, but some ppl react and some ppl dont seem to. I have always avoided it, long before I ever heard of celiac disease.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I react to that seasoning mix and have concluded that it was the MSG too.

It is hard to avoid this especially if you want to eat packaged food but it sure makes a difference. I first found out about it when i was 10 years old and ate a Hot Pocket every day after school for a week and went to bed everyday at around 6pm with a migraine.

Does anyone know if all packaged mixes contain MSG?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've had the Old El Paso Taco Seasoning with no troubles and I am super ultra sensitive to gluten <_< .

You may have reacted to the MSG.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We use the regular (not low sodium) version regularly. I read the ingredients and it does not have MSG, which many people react to, nor does it have ethoxyquin, which is a chemical preservative. I'm in Canada, so the formula might be different here.

Old El Paso is on my list of "trusted" brands who will not hide gluten, so if you do not see Wheat, Rye, Oats or Barley mentioned, using that specific word, in the ingredients then the product is gluten-free.

My guess is the MSG, FWIW.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hubby and I made tacos with the Low Sodium Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Mix and I got sick as a dog. (Pretty sure it was the seasoning b/c I tried eating just the meat again and sure enough - sick for a second day.) !!! I had checked their website and some reviews of the product and everyone said it was gluten free. Tho when I searched *this* site, someone warned against the mix and said to use the bottle sauce - but didn't give a reason. Is there something I was missing in the ingredients?

Here they are for reference:

Maltodextrin, chili pepper, salt, onion powder, spice, MSG, modified corn starch, garlic powder, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, silicon dioxide & ethoxyquin

Ewww...MSG and partially hydrogenated anything. I hate reading ingredients. Anyway, I'm a little confused. Maybe it's the MSG? But I've never noticed a problem with anything else... By the way, we used the bottle sauce this past weekend and were fine. YAY! Hubby makes GREAT steak tacos!

We're going to stick with the bottle sauce from now on, but I'd still like to know what it was that made me sick! Any thoughts?

I have bben looking for a good taco seasoning too. Those ingredients you listed made me think it was the maltodextrin or the MSG that made you sick. Anything with MSG I think is not safe for Celiacs but I'm not 100% on that. I am knew at this diet and it's not fun. Good luck!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have bben looking for a good taco seasoning too. Those ingredients you listed made me think it was the maltodextrin or the MSG that made you sick. Anything with MSG I think is not safe for Celiacs but I'm not 100% on that. I am knew at this diet and it's not fun. Good luck!

MSG is controversial, but is definitely gluten-free. It is not an issue with respect to celiac disease. Maltodextrin is also gluten-free.

Please note that this topic is more than four years old, so some information may be out of date.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

We use the regular (not low sodium) version regularly. I read the ingredients and it does not have MSG, which many people react to, nor does it have ethoxyquin, which is a chemical preservative. I'm in Canada, so the formula might be different here.

Old El Paso is on my list of "trusted" brands who will not hide gluten, so if you do not see Wheat, Rye, Oats or Barley mentioned, using that specific word, in the ingredients then the product is gluten-free.

My guess is the MSG, FWIW.

I'm in canada as well, don't see any msg in it either..i'm having it tonight and dont see anything that might make me sick, well see i guess. Could be different in the states ingredients..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe I'm just adding on to the problem by commenting, but we really need people to not resurrect really, really old threads.

richard

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Maybe I'm just adding on to the problem by commenting, but we really need people to not resurrect really, really old threads.

richard

I think that sometimes bringing up old issues is actually useful, since ingredients change all the time, and something may have changed in the formulation of certain products that people are researching. I myself, just came across this because my boyfriend bought this seasoning mix and I didn't know if i could have it. have always steared clear because of uncertainty.

Maybe there's a way to weed out the old incorrect posts that may confuse people? like the ones that say MSG is not ok for Celiacs and maltodextrin...since we now know they are gluten free (but maybe just not "good" for anyone) :) just a thought. Thanks everyone for the comments, I'm really glad someone posted, because otherwise I'd be not having tacos tonight, and who wants that???

:P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Could the difference be the "lite" form? I use the regular with no problems and MSG is not listed on the pkg. Maybe the MSG is to make up for whatever they leave out of the "lite."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hubby and I made tacos with the Low Sodium Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Mix and I got sick as a dog. (Pretty sure it was the seasoning b/c I tried eating just the meat again and sure enough - sick for a second day.) !!! I had checked their website and some reviews of the product and everyone said it was gluten free. Tho when I searched *this* site, someone warned against the mix and said to use the bottle sauce - but didn't give a reason. Is there something I was missing in the ingredients?

Here they are for reference:

Maltodextrin, chili pepper, salt, onion powder, spice, MSG, modified corn starch, garlic powder, partially hydrogenated soybean oil, silicon dioxide & ethoxyquin

Ewww...MSG and partially hydrogenated anything. I hate reading ingredients. Anyway, I'm a little confused. Maybe it's the MSG? But I've never noticed a problem with anything else... By the way, we used the bottle sauce this past weekend and were fine. YAY! Hubby makes GREAT steak tacos!

We're going to stick with the bottle sauce from now on, but I'd still like to know what it was that made me sick! Any thoughts?

Modified cornstarch is NOT gluten free!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified cornstarch is NOT gluten free!

You'll need to provide a reference for that if you want people to believe you.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified cornstarch is NOT gluten free!

You're commenting on something 5 years old. The ingredients may have changed since then. Also, corn and the resultant corn starch are gluten free. They may not sit well in your stomach, but that doesn't make them contain gluten.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified cornstarch is NOT gluten free!

Corn does contain a form of gluten but not the kind that we can't have. For celiacs cornstarch is safe. That said some folks do have an issue with corn but it is not a celiac issue.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Modified cornstarch is NOT gluten free!

This just isn't true. It's just corn starch chemically modified to improve properties for commercial uses. If it was modified food starch that had wheat or something in it, the company would have to put that on their label.

I use the mild old el paso taco seasoning (that's the yellow one, right?) without issues but never tried the low sodium one. I do know that some other brands have wheat listed on the packet but its easy to overlook.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh good golly, another old thread. AND Modified cornstarch absolutely is completely gluten-free.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,131
    • Total Posts
      919,521
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Cyclinglady is absolutely correct, after hours of internet research the only gluten-free food available at JNB is a fast food chain called 'Nandos'. I was hoping for a bit more variety, but I'll take what I get.   
    • I'm so confused about my daughter's diagnosis.  I hope somebody can help.   My 4 year old daughter has a swollen belly, stomachaches, and lots of gas.  She does not have diarrhea or delayed growth.  Because of her symptoms and because it runs in the family (2nd degree relatives) I had her tested for celiac.   She was weak positive for TTG (IGA)  and strong positive for DGP (IGG)   TTG (IGA)  8   (0-3 neg, 4-10 weak positive, greater than 10 positive) TTG (IGG)  2   EMA: Negative DGP (IGG)  47  (0-19 negative, 20-30 weak positive, greater than 30 positive) Last week, she had her endoscopy.  The doctor found inflammation and little holes or bumps on her duodenum.  He started her on prevacid and said based on his observations, he was suspicious of celiac, but he would not be able to confirm until the biopsy came back. The biopsy showed no signs of celiac disease.  He said that he could not diagnose her with celiac without the biopsy report saying there was celiac damage.  He said he would categorize her as a potential celiac, keep her on a gluten diet and redo the endoscopy in a year or two to check for damage again.  My questions are: 1.)  If it is not celiac, something is causing her duodenum to be inflamed and have little holes or bumps on it, right?  Could it be a wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity?  What else could it be and how do they test for it?  Given her elevated celiac antibodies, how likely is it to be anything besides celiac causing the damage?  2.)  How likely are false positives for TTG and DGP?  I've heard they are pretty sensitive and specific.  Does getting two positives make false positives less likely? 3.) What have you done in this situation?  I want her to have an official diagnosis to make things easier at school and to feel confident that we are eliminating gluten permanently for a worthy reason, etc.  But, I'm having a hard time imagining keeping her on gluten and waiting for her to get more sick and have more intestinal damage just for a diagnosis.     Thanks in advance for your help.  I'm so overwhelmed and confused.  I hope someone has some insight and experience that will help clear things up for me.            
    • Yeah I actually live in Japan which is pretty similar, because Coeliac disease is rare over here so is the understanding and accommodating it. When I mention Gluten to some restaurants they think I am talking in English and they are unfamiliar with the word in Japanese.    So it seems I can write off my chances of getting some authentic Chinese gluten-free food at the airport, but at least there is a Thai restaurant in T3 so I won't starve. Its called  'Phrik Thai' for future reference. http://en-shopping.bcia.com.cn/store/739.html  
    • While in Boston I found Cheer's  Bloody Mary mix that says gluten-free on the bottle and have had no issues and  tastes pretty good 
    • I always assumed plain coffee was, but I have seen some controversy online about this. I know someone who is gluten free and only buys whole beans and grinds them herself because she doesn't trust how the grounds are processed.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,167
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Cristina17
    Joined