Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Whiskey, Vodka, Gin?
0

11 posts in this topic

I am perusing "The Gluten-Free Bible" and it indicates that a gluten-free person cannot have "alcoholic beverages made from cereal grains such as whiskey, vodka, gin ..." Is that accurate?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I am perusing "The Gluten-Free Bible" and it indicates that a gluten-free person cannot have "alcoholic beverages made from cereal grains such as whiskey, vodka, gin ..." Is that accurate?

NOPE! One of the many inaccuracies in that book.

All distilled alcohol beverages are considered gluten free, regardless of the source.

(although there are some here that may be sensitive to the grains in the alcohol - but generally it's accepted to be safe for most Celiac)

http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard there are problems with that book.

" Real" Vodka should be made from potatoes. That's what I always thought. Gluten is a big molecule, so, in distilling, it should be too big and heavy to rise up in the steam. A few of the more sensitive folks have a problem with it. But the majority, are fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I was originally diagnosed I thought that I would have to give up malt whisky. Thankfully, the distillation does indeed work and I have no issues with it. My favourite is Highland Park from Orkney.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good heavens no! I'd be flat on my back if that were the case! :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r::P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I have heard there are problems with that book.

" Real" Vodka should be made from potatoes. That's what I always thought. Gluten is a big molecule, so, in distilling, it should be too big and heavy to rise up in the steam. A few of the more sensitive folks have a problem with it. But the majority, are fine.

I like Tito's - made from corn from TX. There's one from Hawaii made from sugar cane and I want to try it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff is made from corn, or it was in the past. Haven't checked in a long time.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have given up enough... first I quit smoking, then had to go gluten free. I refuse to give up my whiskey. Thank goodness I don't have to!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like Tito's - made from corn from TX. There's one from Hawaii made from sugar cane and I want to try it.

Are you thinking of Koloa Rum? It's made from sugar cane from the island of Kauai. It is amazing, I bought some when I was on my honeymoon their last july. I need to find out if they sell in on the mainland or if I have to get it shipped. Or is there a sugar cane vodka I don't know about?

The website is here http://www.koloarum.com/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

NOPE! One of the many inaccuracies in that book.

I only spent another five or ten minutes looking at that book before I was offended at the misinformation. The typos were bad enough, but telling people that rice can be dangerous? There were a whole handful of things in that arena that I dismissed immediately and don't even recall now. Plus, the classic fallacies like caramel color having gluten were mentioned as well. I think it's harmful for that book to still be published.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I react to gluten-distilled alcohols. I don't know about whiskey or gin, but Smirnoff, Chopin, Ciroc, Pinnacle vodkas are gluten free. If you like rum as well, most are gluten free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,354
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Oh, Trish at the GlutenFreeWatchDog tested Planter's honey roasted peanuts three years ago.  The can did not state gluten-free, but showed no gluten ingrediants (per Kraft policy).  Test result: less than 5 part per million which is pretty much gluten-free.  
    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,134
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Alinapep
    Joined