Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Whiskey, Vodka, Gin?
0

11 posts in this topic

I am perusing "The Gluten-Free Bible" and it indicates that a gluten-free person cannot have "alcoholic beverages made from cereal grains such as whiskey, vodka, gin ..." Is that accurate?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I am perusing "The Gluten-Free Bible" and it indicates that a gluten-free person cannot have "alcoholic beverages made from cereal grains such as whiskey, vodka, gin ..." Is that accurate?

NOPE! One of the many inaccuracies in that book.

All distilled alcohol beverages are considered gluten free, regardless of the source.

(although there are some here that may be sensitive to the grains in the alcohol - but generally it's accepted to be safe for most Celiac)

http://www.celiac.com/articles/222/1/Gluten-Free-Alcoholic-Beverages/Page1.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have heard there are problems with that book.

" Real" Vodka should be made from potatoes. That's what I always thought. Gluten is a big molecule, so, in distilling, it should be too big and heavy to rise up in the steam. A few of the more sensitive folks have a problem with it. But the majority, are fine.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

When I was originally diagnosed I thought that I would have to give up malt whisky. Thankfully, the distillation does indeed work and I have no issues with it. My favourite is Highland Park from Orkney.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good heavens no! I'd be flat on my back if that were the case! :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r::P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I have heard there are problems with that book.

" Real" Vodka should be made from potatoes. That's what I always thought. Gluten is a big molecule, so, in distilling, it should be too big and heavy to rise up in the steam. A few of the more sensitive folks have a problem with it. But the majority, are fine.

I like Tito's - made from corn from TX. There's one from Hawaii made from sugar cane and I want to try it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Smirnoff is made from corn, or it was in the past. Haven't checked in a long time.

richard

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have given up enough... first I quit smoking, then had to go gluten free. I refuse to give up my whiskey. Thank goodness I don't have to!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like Tito's - made from corn from TX. There's one from Hawaii made from sugar cane and I want to try it.

Are you thinking of Koloa Rum? It's made from sugar cane from the island of Kauai. It is amazing, I bought some when I was on my honeymoon their last july. I need to find out if they sell in on the mainland or if I have to get it shipped. Or is there a sugar cane vodka I don't know about?

The website is here http://www.koloarum.com/

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

NOPE! One of the many inaccuracies in that book.

I only spent another five or ten minutes looking at that book before I was offended at the misinformation. The typos were bad enough, but telling people that rice can be dangerous? There were a whole handful of things in that arena that I dismissed immediately and don't even recall now. Plus, the classic fallacies like caramel color having gluten were mentioned as well. I think it's harmful for that book to still be published.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I react to gluten-distilled alcohols. I don't know about whiskey or gin, but Smirnoff, Chopin, Ciroc, Pinnacle vodkas are gluten free. If you like rum as well, most are gluten free.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,357
    • Total Posts
      920,528
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)  
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
    • I had a biopsy done (2 samples, 1 on a lesion and 1 next to lesions), and also more bloodwork done. All came back negative. However, I only had been eating gluten for 2 weeks prior, and it took a week of gluten for lesions to reappear. I also used a topical steroid off and on (1x a week approximately) for a month or so before testing. The dermatologist told me to stay off gluten though, and said she wants to do more allergy testing (her next open testing appt is in 6 months!!). I know I'm not the DR, but I dont think it's allergies...without a doubt, my skin begins clearing about 2 weeks post gluten-free diet...this is without changing anything else in my lifestyle. And when i had to go back on gluten before my biopsy, it took about a week, but did reappear. Now, about 2 weeks post biopsy and gluten-free, it had begun clearing until i worked outside all day in heat, humidity,  sweat etc and it has definitely irritated all the places that were healing (not new breakouts, just aggravating what was going away!). All that being said, i have a friend who is an MD( who's hobby is to attend conferences on skin conditions!), and she has told me that without a doubt, I have celiac/DH.  I think I just feel like I need test results and paperwork to show for it...especially to show family members who are unsupportive (gross understatement!) of the extreme changes I've had to make!
    • Sorry ! I have never cruised before.  Just wanting to follow your topic.  Good luck! Have a great,  safe vacation.  
    • Hi there, I hope you're all having a good day! I'll be heading on a week-long Carnival cruise shortly and had a few questions: -What is the tipping protocol? I've prepaid gratuities, but feel like the food request will warrant something extra. Should I tip the headwaiter? Hostess? Regular waiter? Chef? Those cooking at, say, the sandwich or pasta bars? If so, how much is appropriate, and should I tip at the beginning of the cruise, the end, or split it up? -It looks like the main dining room will be closed during lunch hours on most days. Any recommendations on safe bets for midday meals? I'll be on the Carnival Sunshine, for what that's worth. Thank you so much for any information you can share!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined