Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Rice Krispies Gluten Free
0

21 posts in this topic

Trying to figure out what zapped me. Anyone had any issues with the gluten free rice krispies?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I think I did the first time I tried them :( I have another box though and I'm trying to work up the courage to test again to make sure it wasn't something else. I'll be watching this thread to see if anyone else reports having issues with them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have tried them twice with no effects at this time..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I am happy to report that I have no reaction whatsoever :)

... and I am VERY sensitive to gluten and react rather quickly with several nasty reactions. <_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks....I guess its the Lactaid milk........again...Gosh, dairy is so much harder to give up than gluten for me! I got bloating, gas and a headache...I thought Lactaid was suppose to help so I guess it really is casein. BUMMER! AGH.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Thanks....I guess its the Lactaid milk........again...Gosh, dairy is so much harder to give up than gluten for me! I got bloating, gas and a headache...I thought Lactaid was suppose to help so I guess it really is casein. BUMMER! AGH.

I agree with you...I miss dairy more than I miss gluten. :(

I use So Delicious Coconut Milk---very tasty!! :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I agree with you...I miss dairy more than I miss gluten. :(

I use So Delicious Coconut Milk---very tasty!! :)

I'm with you! My 3 year old son is gluten free, limited dairy and I find the dairy so much harder to work around!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to burst your bubble but Rice Crispies have Malt in them and in Canada they have Barley and Malt so they are not considered Gluten Free, although it is probably a very small amount of it; it is still considered to contain gluten.....BUT they now make gluten free rice crispies information on that is on the thread below :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Sorry to burst your bubble but Rice Crispies have Malt in them and in Canada they have Barley and Malt so they are not considered Gluten Free, although it is probably a very small amount of it; it is still considered to contain gluten.....BUT they now make gluten free rice crispies information on that is on the thread below :)

Gluten Free Rice Krispies are now available in the US. There are no plans by Kelloggs, at this point, to bring the product to the Canadian market.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Gluten Free Rice Krispies are now available in the US. There are no plans by Kelloggs, at this point, to bring the product to the Canadian market.

I've tried them. My problem is that they just don't taste very good--not like real Rice Krispies. I think that perhaps it's because they use brown rice instead of white rice. Somehow everyone who manufactures gluten free products (with the exception of God bless 'em General Mills with their Chex line) seems to think that we're all health food nuts who want bland tasting "natural" cerials that taste worse than the stuff I feed my horse. I had high hopes for these but unfortunately Kellogs has not come through.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've tried them. My problem is that they just don't taste very good--not like real Rice Krispies. I think that perhaps it's because they use brown rice instead of white rice. Somehow everyone who manufactures gluten free products (with the exception of God bless 'em General Mills with their Chex line) seems to think that we're all health food nuts who want bland tasting "natural" cerials that taste worse than the stuff I feed my horse. I had high hopes for these but unfortunately Kellogs has not come through.

I have tried the gluten free Rice Krispies...I had MAJOR issues after eating .  I'm wondering about cross-contamination with barley/malt, as I am more sensitive to barley than to wheat.......

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i just looked this up (plain rice krispies - kelloggs website) because they are now running a commercial ad that says the only thing rice krispies contains is rice.  i thought it used to contain barley malt.  the ingredients on the website currently lists 'malt flavor' - - - - ?  WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? 

 

lolz - they use 'carmine' to color red cherries in canned fruit cocktail - i looked it up because i wanted to be sure it was ok.  and, YAY!  carmine is gluten free!  it is also made of CRUSHED UP BUG BODIES.....  so, it's safe to eat but now i don't want to....  ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've tried them. My problem is that they just don't taste very good--not like real Rice Krispies. I think that perhaps it's because they use brown rice instead of white rice. Somehow everyone who manufactures gluten free products (with the exception of God bless 'em General Mills with their Chex line) seems to think that we're all health food nuts who want bland tasting "natural" cerials that taste worse than the stuff I feed my horse. I had high hopes for these but unfortunately Kellogs has not come through.

I second this.  If I wanted them made of brown rice, I'd have gotten the nasty Erewhon ones.  They don't taste like the originals, they don't crunch like the originals.  You can use them for rice krispie treats, but they're not much good in a bowl with milk.  Yuk.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

i just looked this up (plain rice krispies - kelloggs website) because they are now running a commercial ad that says the only thing rice krispies contains is rice.  i thought it used to contain barley malt.  the ingredients on the website currently lists 'malt flavor' - - - - ?  WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? 

 

lolz - they use 'carmine' to color red cherries in canned fruit cocktail - i looked it up because i wanted to be sure it was ok.  and, YAY!  carmine is gluten free!  it is also made of CRUSHED UP BUG BODIES.....  so, it's safe to eat but now i don't want to....  ;)

yep, we found out that Yoplait yogurt has the crushed bugs ewwwww

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have tried the gluten free Rice Krispies...I had MAJOR issues after eating .  I'm wondering about cross-contamination with barley/malt, as I am more sensitive to barley than to wheat.......

 

 

The G F Rice Krispies are  NOT CROSS CONTAMINATED.

I eat them sometimes and I would feel it, believe me. 

 

THEIR WEBSITE: "We produce it in a separate facility and test each batch to make sure that it’s gluten-free".

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I eat gluten-free Rice Krispies as part of my breakfast food rotation, and have never had a problem. There were so many years that I did not eat Rice Krispies due to the barley, that I honestly don't remember the original ones well enough to make a comparison. But I like the gluten-free ones. I also eat Rice Chex and Corn Chex (for the latter, I stock up whenever I am south of the border).

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyone who would eat a dead pig shouldn't balk at a dead bug. I eat both!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyone who would eat a dead pig shouldn't balk at a dead bug. I eat both!

 

 

:lol: ok, I spit a teensy bit of wine on the laptop just now

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anyone who would eat a dead pig shouldn't balk at a dead bug. I eat both!

good point - and bacon *does* go with everything!!!  :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Trying to figure out what zapped me. Anyone had any issues with the gluten free rice krispies?

I have them here in Michigan and been fine, and I'm sensitive. What I have struggles with are the gluten-free Chex.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

good point - and bacon *does* go with everything!!!  :D

 

thanks now I want bacon! bacon like a good pair of shoes......goes with everything haha :P

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined