11 replies to this topic

#1 CNV2855

CNV2855

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts

Posted 11 October 2011 - 08:37 PM

My family has owned a seafood restaurant for over 25 years and I've had plenty of experience with these little guys. They're perhaps one of the most delicious delicacies spawned by the Cajun/Creole culture.

That said, I would not eat these as a celiac... especially if you're sensitive. They're usually raised in rice fields (rice requires water), in between the rice seasons, or other small dedicated ponds. They're fed a feed that I believe to be a grain mixture of some kind of which I don't doubt wheat would be a common ingredient. I've come across the feed pellets when culling and it's definitely a grain byproduct.

Anyway, these little guys have very simple digestive tracts and when you peel them that black stuff you see (similar to the black vein you see on shrimp) is actually crawfish poop. I do not think that crawfish have the digestive mechanisms to break down gluten to the extent that it would be rendered safe. It's almost impossible to eat crawfish without ingesting some of this "poop". If wheat was fed to them, I think it'd definitely be possible to have a reaction to these. Basically, you end up eating what they ate.

I haven't had crawfish in years so I've never tested it, but it's just a warning for those of you not accustomed to this particular food and who might travel through the Gulf Coast.