#1 celiacchef

celiacchef

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 04:54 AM

Hi guys,

I'm a chef that cooks gluten-free dishes from starters to desserts.

I'm not celiac myself but wanted to ask a question.

What is the one dish you miss because of being a celiac? It can be anything!

I ask this because I love cooking gluten-free dishes: sticky toffee puddings, raviolis bread and butter pudding, fresh pasta, fresh breads and so on.

But what I really want is your feedback instead of me guessing.

Thank you for your feedback,

Scott

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Bubba's Mom

Bubba's Mom

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,457 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 05:49 AM

I can't pick just one thing...
a really good pizza crust would be nice
a soft, non crumbly bun for a good burger
egg pasta
ravioli, manicotti
egg rolls..not rice paper rolls
and the holy grail..really good bread! :D

#3 love2travel

love2travel

Čeznem da se u Hrvatskoj!

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,847 posts

Posted 19 October 2011 - 07:00 AM

I'm not a chef but teach culinary classes and am obsessed with cooking and food. :D I can make most things gluten-free very well except for the following:

- buttery flaky croissants
- fabulous ciabatta with good chew
- phyllo and puff pastry (I miss making Beef Wellington, Steak and Ale Pie) but I do adapt
- soft puffy yeast doughnuts - I really dislike cake doughnuts
- very good chewy pretzels
- wonderful fresh pasta - my gluten-free homemade is pretty decent and to remedy lack of flavour I incorporate fresh herbs betweeen layers, spinach, butternut squash and so on.
- English muffins - have tried a few gluten-free commercial brands such as Kinnickinnik and they are deplorable!