This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

What Do You Miss?

celiacchef

celiacchef Rookie

Hi guys,

I'm a chef that cooks gluten-free dishes from starters to desserts.

I'm not celiac myself but wanted to ask a question.

What is the one dish you miss because of being a celiac? It can be anything!

I ask this because I love cooking gluten-free dishes: sticky toffee puddings, raviolis bread and butter pudding, fresh pasta, fresh breads and so on.

But what I really want is your feedback instead of me guessing.

Thank you for your feedback,

Scott

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

• Replies 122
  • Created
  • Last Reply
Bubba's Mom Enthusiast

I can't pick just one thing...

a really good pizza crust would be nice

a soft, non crumbly bun for a good burger

egg pasta

ravioli, manicotti

egg rolls..not rice paper rolls

and the holy grail..really good bread! :D

love2travel Mentor

I'm not a chef but teach culinary classes and am obsessed with cooking and food. :D I can make most things gluten-free very well except for the following:

- buttery flaky croissants

- fabulous ciabatta with good chew

- phyllo and puff pastry (I miss making Beef Wellington, Steak and Ale Pie) but I do adapt

- soft puffy yeast doughnuts - I really dislike cake doughnuts

- very good chewy pretzels

- wonderful fresh pasta - my gluten-free homemade is pretty decent and to remedy lack of flavour I incorporate fresh herbs betweeen layers, spinach, butternut squash and so on.

- English muffins - have tried a few gluten-free commercial brands such as Kinnickinnik and they are deplorable!