Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten Free Chewing Gum?
0

11 posts in this topic

So Recently I emailed the company Wrigley which makes a lot of the gum products we're familiar with (Double Mint, Winter Fresh, Juicy Fruit, etc) and I asked which of their products are free of gluten. They basically gave me a list of what ISN'T gluten free, and that list is very small, everything else is fine to eat :lol: Here's the response:

Thank you for writing to inquire about ingredients used in Wrigley products.

All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled within strict compliance of applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004. Any materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient line.

The FDA has issued a proposed rule on gluten-free labeling, allowing food products containing less than 20 ppm of gluten (sourced from wheat, rye, barley, oats or cross-bred hybrids), to be considered gluten-free. [Federal Register: January 23, 2007 (Volume 72, Number 14)]

All U.S. Wrigley chewing gums and confection products have been assessed to be gluten-free with the exception of the products listed below, which contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and may contain trace amounts of gluten.

Accordingly, these products are labeled as containing wheat-derived ingredients:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

I read on the Trident site that the gum is gluten-free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for sharing the info!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I read on the Trident site that the gum is gluten-free

Interesting, I will check that out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just to add: I found a brand of gum at my local Coles' bookstore that is labelled dairy-free, nut-free, gluten-free, and aspertame-free. (Aspertame-free! So awesome!) It's called "Pur" and has a lone overtop of the u - I don't know how to show that on here, sorry. Anyway it's pretty tasty, and it was nice to lose the aspertame. Check it out!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Just to add: I found a brand of gum at my local Coles' bookstore that is labelled dairy-free, nut-free, gluten-free, and aspertame-free. (Aspertame-free! So awesome!) It's called "Pur" and has a lone overtop of the u - I don't know how to show that on here, sorry. Anyway it's pretty tasty, and it was nice to lose the aspertame. Check it out!

Cool I'll Keep my eye open. Also I just found this gum called Glee Gum, it says gluten free on the back of the package. Awesome! http://www.gleegum.com/faqs.htm#Is_Glee_Gum_gluten_free

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Cool I'll Keep my eye open. Also I just found this gum called Glee Gum, it says gluten free on the back of the package. Awesome! http://www.gleegum.com/faqs.htm#Is_Glee_Gum_gluten_free

Actually I just noticed one of the ingredients on the Glee Gum is brown rice syrup. usually this is made through a process that includes barley so I'm gonna call them to make sure.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually I just noticed one of the ingredients on the Glee Gum is brown rice syrup. usually this is made through a process that includes barley so I'm gonna call them to make sure.

Please provide your source for this claim about barley in rice syrup.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Here's one source that explains brown rice syrup: http://www.triedtastedserved.com/natural-sweeteners/brown-rice-syrup.php

I looked at the linked page. I do not find it credible.

"Brown rice syrup is a natural sweetener produced from fermented cooked rice..."

Okay, so it is "cooked..."

But then, the question "Is it raw?" comes up:

"Yes, pure brown rice syrup is raw" -- I guess somehow it got uncooked?

And yet:

"No, because sometimes commercial brown rice syrup is produced by using GM enzymes." -- They can't tell the difference between raw and GM, clearly.

This obvious error causes me to question the validity of all the information on the site.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I found this Q and A article in Gluten Free Living Magazine when I was first looking at things like brown rice syrup for use in baking.

Maybe it will help clarify?

"Q. Is brown rice syrup gluten free?

A. Brown rice syrup is a sweetener made by fermenting brown rice with

enzymes to disintegrate the starch content,according to manufacturer AG

Commodities Inc. Then the fermented liquid is strained and cooked until it

becomes syrup. The enzymes are the key to whether the brown rice syrup is gluten free. Barley enzymes, which are often used, make brown rice syrup that is not gluten free. However, if fungal enzymes are used, then the brown rice syrup is gluten free.

Several brands are labeled gluten free, including Lundberg Farms’ Sweet

Dream, Nature’s Flavors’ organic brown rice syrup and Suzanne’s Specialties’ Genmai organic brown rice nectar.

Lundberg Farms purposely switched from a cereal enzyme to a fungal enzyme to make their brown rice syrup gluten free.

You will sometimes see brown rice syrup listed as an ingredient in

processed foods. If it’s used in a product that is labeled gluten free, like Erewhon brown rice cereal or Enjoy Life Foods’ Cocoa Loco snack bars, you can assume it is gluten free.

But if brown rice syrup is used in a mainstream product, it can be harder to tell. Some companies note the use of barley or barley malt in their brown rice syrup, but the allergen labeling law does not require them to. If you see brown rice syrup on a mainstream label, but the source is not listed, the only way to be sure is to check with the food maker."

Since GLEE GUM has labeled the product gluten free, one can assume they have not used barley in the brown rice syrup.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      103,625
    • Total Posts
      918,379
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • glutened by lays potato chips?
      I ate some baked lays last night and felt very sick all night and haven't been feeling great all day today. Other than that I didn't eat anything different from what I normally eat and there was no risk of cross contamination with anything.. These were the only thing I had that was different. They're labeled gluten free so I figured it would be okay, but I started feeling sick pretty soon after eating them. I'm not sure if it's another ingredient in them or what (and i know it's not the soy).. Has anyone else had a reaction to lays potato chips?
    • Symptoms In Toddlers?
      Welcome Ashley! Here are the current tests.  The DGP versions seem to work a bit better than the TTG in small children.  So, ask for the complete panel (and get it all in one stick....my 15 year still hates to get blood drawn ! http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ Your doctors are wrong!  They must be reading old medical text books.  Not all kids or people have failure to thrive!  You can even be symptom free!. I was anemic and had no intestinal issues when I was diagnosed.  celiac disease affects everyone differently and that's probably why so many folks are not diagnosed. Your kids (parents, siblings too) should be tested every few years (sooner if symptoms develop) per all the leading celiac researchers/doctors if a first-degree relative has celiac disease (like you!)  celiac disease can develop at any age! Hope this helps!   
    • amalgam dental fillings - remove or not?
      Do you have celiac disease?  This is a celiac forum and that's what we are most knowledgeable about. http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ Amalgam fillings do not have lead that I know.  What you read was probably mercury.  You could have them removed, but only by a dentist who has the knowledge and skill.   I think you need to do some more research so that you can make an informed decision. I wish you well. 
    • Newly diagnosed and totally overwhelmed
      Welcome! Go ahead and rant!  Scream and holler!  Weep.  It is totally normal to go through a grieving process.  We have all been there!  You are NOT alone! When you pick yourself off the floor, start researching.  Learn about the gluten free diet.  Start with easy-to-digest foods that are naturally gluten free (meat, fish, veggies, fruit, etc.).  You may have to give up dairy for a short time until your villi heal (the villi tips release enzymes that help digest lactose (milk sugars).  Skip all the processed foods until you are improving.  That will give yourself time to forget what bread really tastes like.  Avoid eating out for a few months -- it's easy to get cross contamination.  Best to explain your gluten-free needs when you, yourself, "get it".  Read our Newbie 101 thread under "Coping" for valuable tips.   You can go out and drink with your friends.  You might have to avoid alcohol for a few months.  But when healed you can drink!  Just no beers, malted beverages.  Most distilled liquor (e.g. volka) is gluten free.   So, is wine.  Skip the gluten free beer for a long time.   Find other celiacs in your area.  In the meantime, visit with us.  It does get better.        
    • amalgam dental fillings - remove or not?
      Hi everyone, I'm going through some health issues right now and when searching for possible causes of my symptoms and blood test results, I see lead poissoning popping up quite a few times. Now, I have many amalgam fillings in my mouth since childhood, so naturally I'm thinking if that might play a role and if removing them would make a difference. But from what I read online removing the amalgam fillings is not recommended and does not bring any health benefits. I have mixed feelings about this issue and would really appreciate some advice. Thanks in advance for any comments. Greetings from Mexico. :-)
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

    • celiac sharon  »  cyclinglady

      Hello cycling lady, have you noticed my picture is showing up as you?  Have no idea why but it's rather disconcerting to see my picture and your words 😉  Do you know how to fix it?  You seem to have far more experience with this board than I do
      · 1 reply
    • Larry Gessner  »  cyclinglady

      Hi There, I don't know if there is a place for videos in the forum. I just watched "The Truth About Gluten" I think it is a good video. I would like to share it somewhere but don't know where it should go. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
      Here is the link if you have never watched it.
      https://youtu.be/IU6jVEwpjnE Thank You,
      Larry
      · 2 replies
    • ChiaChick  »  Peaceflower

      Hi Peaceflower, Just wanted to say thank you for the chat.
      · 0 replies
  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      60,716
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Acomys
    Joined