9 replies to this topic

#1 cougie23

cougie23

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 238 posts

Posted 26 October 2011 - 01:06 PM

I know eggplant is a night shade...but can anyone explain about nightshades to me?
effects,any info would be apresiated! I know alot of celiacs tend to be sentitive to these (and soy, nuts,corn,frucose ect.) so I'm sure a thread on the subject for all us newbies would be much apresiated!
I thought eggplant was ok...I only had an ocasional reaction to American (the giant purple beast) eggplant if it was under cooked (usreally grilled)...I didn't seem to have any problem with the smaller more delecate japanese eggplant I've been eating it regularly in my diet for the last year/ 8 months? But the recently I had stuffed American eggplant and was sick ( vomiting ,diarea,intestinal hives,bloating,throat itchy slightly swollen,sore, severe neck pain and severe migrain type head ache!!!)
Needless to say I said NEVER again to american eggplant...but 2 weeks after the effects wore off I had just a little japanese eggplant thrown in with some mushrooms and chicken in the form of tacos (gluten free corn tortillas of course)...and WHOA BABY!!!! I was Soooooooo sick!!!! Neck imeadeatly knotted up severely ,migraine for days..vomiting ,instant bloating.....Internal hives....I've NEVER had that kind of reaction to the smaller type eggplant (its the really long one). Apearently ALL eggplant are out now!! :blink: :(
So can anybody give me any insight on this..I've heard mention here and there but thought maybe it could be helpful to put it out there in one spot! allittle easier than looking all over this site for scraps of info like I was doing...Thanks Guys!!! :D :D
also is it possible to get hemorroids from a food reaction? any one ever experiance or heard of this?
Suddenly I've this wicked hemorriod out of nowhere!!