Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:

Ads by Google:

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Cookies Have A Bitter/metallic/salty Taste. What Is It?

7 posts in this topic

I'm new to gluten-free eating. I discovered a place in town that does gluten-free baking and pizza. I bought half moon cookies (black/white) there today to surprise DH and my kids with how good gluten-free treats can taste. Well, they were disgusting. The kids spit them out. DH and I tasted a bitter, I guess metallic type flavor. Dh thought maybe it was too much baking soda. But I'm wondering if a type of flour substitute, xantham gum or other type of gluten-free sub would cause this. Is this a common side effect in gluten-free baking or just an isolated thing, perhaps a mistake? Gosh I would've hated to have brought these to a party to share they were that bad.

Ads by Google:

Sometimes the pea and bean flour can impart an undesirable taste to things that are supposed to be sweet, or it could have just been a bad recipe or wrongly executed. Hard to say. There are some really delicious gluten free foods out there, although I personally admit that it is hard to duplicate gluten cookies with gluten-free flours. Hub found a good choc. chip recipe the other day, quite by chance, and using all the same ingredients we usually use - the proportions just happened to "work".

Dh thought maybe it was too much baking soda.

Actually, I think this is pretty good guess.

I know some people don't like Wikipedia as a reference but it summerizes it nicely:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Baking_powder#Usage_of_aluminum_compounds

Have you ever noticed that you can buy aluminum free baking powder? Tells you that there must be some baking powder with aluminum in it, huh? You can google it and find more info but it's used in the form of an acidic salt.