6 replies to this topic

#1 gwo8

gwo8

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 20 November 2011 - 08:06 PM

Hi--I'm new to gluten-free, as my 8 year old was just diagnosed. He likes soda and we let him have it as a treat sometimes, but I'm confused as to if it has caramel coloring...is it gluten-free or not? I've tried to research and it seems to have something to do with where it was manufactured. Just wondering. Learned today that KFC, even GRILLED chicken, won't work for him--they use the same tongs to serve it anyway. :-/ Taco Bell was our favorite "go-to" place, but I've learned that their taco meat isn't gluten-free...just at the beginning of this journey. Thanks for y'all's help!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,048 posts

Posted 20 November 2011 - 08:17 PM

Welcome to our community.

Caramel color is one of those celiac urban myths that just won't go away.

Here is Shelley Case's take on it, from Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide:

Although gluten-containing ingredients (barley malt syrup and starch hydrolysates) can be used in the production of caramel color, North American companies use corn as it has a longer shelf life and makes a superior product. European companies use glucose derived from wheat starch, however caramel color is highly processed and contains no gluten.

[Emphasis in original]
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 modiddly16

modiddly16

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts

Posted 21 November 2011 - 05:47 AM

KFC's grilled chicken is actually also dusted in flour before grilled, so its MUCH more than the tongs unfortunately!

#4 killernj13

killernj13

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 266 posts