Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Can You Have Soy If You Are Gluten Free?
0

15 posts in this topic

I am now gluten intolerant. I am a little confused. Do you have to eliminate soy too? Lots of things are wheat free but then it has soy. Can we have soy?

Sue

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Soy is gluten-free. Some people with celiac disease are also intolerant to soy, but certainly not all of us. I have no trouble with soy.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy is gluten-free. Some people with celiac disease are also intolerant to soy, but certainly not all of us. I have no trouble with soy.

Thank you. I think I am getting the gluten free part. But still have confusion over things that are ingredients in products. I guess it is the wording that gets me.

I also have a burning in my mouth and gums. Could this be from being gluten intolerant?

Sue

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I also have a burning in my mouth and gums. Could this be from being gluten intolerant?

Gum/enamel problems and sores are relatively common with people who have celiac disease, because most of us have some kind of vitamin deficiency. Smoking makes dental problems worse. Consult your dentist for advice on how to address these problems.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

everyone has different symptoms, it's hard to say if yours are specifically from gluten intolerance or from something else. Burning sensations in the mouth I think are more common with allergic reactions rather than an auto-immune reaction. When do you notice the burning? All the time, or only with certain foods?

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Many at least start off with issues to common allergens, soy, dairy, etc until things heal up. Dairy and soy get me bad. Heck, it seems like my GI accepts and rejects things at will with no rhyme or reason.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a side note! Some products are wheat free but not gluten free, you will want to look for products that are labeled gluten free therefore making them wheat free...Wheat free means no wheat but could have rye or barley....

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

1. Look for "gluten-free" label ("a naturally gluten-free food" doesn't always mean the product is gluten-free; three cheers for Wal-Mart brand, which likes to screw up "naturally gluten-free foods" by adding "may contain wheat" disclaimers.) If it is certified gluten-free, stick it in your buggy and move on to the next aisle.

2. Look for wheat listed (I tend to look at 2 products from same brand - one of which I am certain has wheat in it - and compare how they list their ingredients.)

3. Look for barley, rye, malt (not maltodextrose - that is safe) in the ingredients list - this will not usually be listed in the allergens, etc. area.

P.S. - Yes, soy is safe in terms of being gluten-free.

While I am not condoning this practice, my allergy testing revealed both a soy and tomato allergy (some time before any celiac-related problems arose, etc.) I don't pay attention to either, only focusing on the gluten-free side of things.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Just a side note! Some products are wheat free but not gluten free, you will want to look for products that are labeled gluten free therefore making them wheat free...Wheat free means no wheat but could have rye or barley....

This is good to note. I found some products at Walmart that are gluten free. Watching for the barley and rye too

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

everyone has different symptoms, it's hard to say if yours are specifically from gluten intolerance or from something else. Burning sensations in the mouth I think are more common with allergic reactions rather than an auto-immune reaction. When do you notice the burning? All the time, or only with certain foods?

I have the burning most of the time. I don't know of a certain food that causes it. I don't eat things that are acid.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is good to note. I found some products at Walmart that are gluten free. Watching for the barley and rye too

Be careful of Wal-Mart brands. Wal-Mart has done a better job at labeling their products, but they still sometimes have gluten in products that most other brands don't (canned vegetables, for example.)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I have just found out i am gluten intolerant and these posts have been very helpful in finding answers. And in one article (not on this site) said that soy is gluten free. I was excited cuz there is a lot  of soy in most everything it seems. But i also saw an article in "about Health" that says, 

 

Pure soybeans do not have gluten in them, since the gluten protein responsible for reactions in celiac disease andgluten sensitivity only occurs in the grains wheat, barley and rye.

But unfortunately, that's not the end of the story for soy and gluten.

Soybeans commonly are grown in rotation with wheat crops. That means the farmers use the same fields to grow soy and wheat, along with the same combines to harvest them, the same storage facilities to keep them and the same trucks to transport them to market. As a result, soy can be subject to gluten cross-contamination — in some cases, lots of gluten cross-contamination.

For example, a 2010 study by celiac dietitian Tricia Thompson on gluten in so-called 'gluten-free' grains found that soy was one of the worst offenders — in fact, one sample of soy flour contained a whopping 2,925 parts per million of gluten (for comparison, less than 20 parts per million generally is considered "gluten-free," although many people react to even less gluten than that). This gluten free living is very confusing. So i guess its back to no soy again.  :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Soy sauce caN be an issue. Most has gluten, but gluten free versions are available, and most good sushi joints now carry them.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the forum, Drifter! :)  This thread is a few years old but it is always a good idea to make sure what we buy is truly gluten-free.  Soy, like anything else, can be CC'd when processed, especially when milled into a flour.  While most processed food containing soy has fairly small amounts of it and won't have much issue from field cc (like soy lecithin, etc), something like a soy flour (or any flour) definitely needs to be verified gluten-free before consumption, as it may be processed in a facility or on equipment with gluten containing grains.  This is why it is a best practice when buying gluten-free grains to get certified gluten-free or from a company that can verify its practices, since those are the most likely whole foods to be contaminated.  Now, whole soy things like edamame are an example of where CC isn't going to be as big of a deal.  But any processed food does need to be checked before we eat it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the forum, Drifter!  :)  This thread is a few years old but it is always a good idea to make sure what we buy is truly gluten-free.  Soy, like anything else, can be CC'd when processed, especially when milled into a flour.  While most processed food containing soy has fairly small amounts of it and won't have much issue from field cc (like soy lecithin, etc), something like a soy flour (or any flour) definitely needs to be verified gluten-free before consumption, as it may be processed in a facility or on equipment with gluten containing grains.  This is why it is a best practice when buying gluten-free grains to get certified gluten-free or from a company that can verify its practices, since those are the most likely whole foods to be contaminated.  Now, whole soy things like edamame are an example of where CC isn't going to be as big of a deal.  But any processed food does need to be checked before we eat it.

 

Thank you Laura and this has been very helpful.  :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,641
    • Total Posts
      921,561
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Welcome!   I am confused.  Did you have a negative celiac blood test or a negative biopsy (taken via endoscopy)?
    • In addition to cheese made with yogurt, hard cheeses like cheddar, romano, parmesaen etc are also going to be lactose free. Eggs are also a good source of protein if you eat them. Do bear in mind that celiac can really mess with your head. It can cause depression and anxiety that can get worse for a short time when you first go gluten free. your life is not over by any means. The reason why you see more people on boards and in forums that are having problems is because most when they heal go on with their lives. We don't hear from them with the exception of a few that stick around to help people that are still struggling. Hang in there it will get better.
    • You are sick.  Depression and anxiety are symtoms of celiac disease (and many other illnesses).  It is hard now to look forward and imagine a great life, but it is possible.  I think you are already in the thick of the grieving process right now.  Reaching out to this forum can be very healing emotional (it is not just all common sense advice about gluten-free food!).  I did not say not to exercise, but to do it gently.  This is not the time to train for a marathon or triathlon!   The SCD Lifestyle site....it is all about the money.  Seriously.  They are selling a book. 
    • They are big on selling books -. They try to spam a lot forums and FB groups. why can't you eat nuts, nut flours, quinoa, hummus and beans? I think I missed that. Those are a good source of protein.  If you can't digest lactose look for a lactose free cheese - like one made from yogurt. at first,I thought life was over.  But with a few years of experience, I have found it isn't that big of a deal. It helps to have an attitude of "I am not here for the food.  I am here for the wine ( or the company . ). Also helps to not care what people think - "I don't care if you think it's odd that I brought my own lunch to the funeral luncheon. "( And it helps that my lunch looks better than theirs lol.)
    • Gracey, It am a mother and I am going to give you some  valuable advice.  You need to keep and document everything related to your health.  Every lab test result, notes from your doctor's visits, etc.  Why?  Because only you are your best health advocate (except for your mom).  Doctors come and go, but it is up to you to manage your health.   When I changed insurance and doctors, I had copies of all my medical records in hand.  My new PCP was impressed.  There was no doubt that I had celiac disease, fractures, Hashimoto's and diabetes, anemia, etc.  I had physical proof.  As an result, she was quick to refer me to a new GI  and order tests to measure my progress  (e.g bone scans).  My family health history chart helped not just me, but other family members.   So, find out if biopsies were taken during your endoscopy.  Get the pathologist's report.  See if your doctor checked for other issues besides celiac disease.   Hugs!  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,644
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Jross69
    Joined