6 replies to this topic

#1 kathrynk

kathrynk

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:33 AM

can someone tell me what brand of ketchup, mustard, and mayo are safe?! I am a newbie to gluten-free and I have messed up quite a bit this week...I am learning so much on here! Thanks everyone!
Kathy
Diagnosed with Sjrogren's in 2010
Diagnosed with Reynauds in 2010
Diagnosed with Hashimotos Thyroid Nov 2011-due to enlarged thyroid with nodules
October 2011-started having stomach cramping and gas pains-mostly in the evenings
end of November 2011-removed gluten
Dec 2011-celiac panel negative

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

HO! HO! HO!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,312 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:39 AM

I think most of them in the US are gluten-free. Check mustard for beer. I use either Heinz or Hunts ketchup. I use Grey Poupon mustard, but read the ingredients because they may have a "beer" version.

Something helpful for you is : ConAgra (lots of brands will say ConAgra in the small print)& Kraft clearly label any gluten in the ingredients. So if it doesn't say, wheat, rye, or barley, its not there.

Be careful sharing something in a jar with a gluten eater. A knife in the Mayo could get bread crumbs in there. Squirt jars are safer or mark one for your gluten-free use only.

santa-dance.gif

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry

“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin

“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone

#3 kathrynk

kathrynk

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:43 AM