Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Condiments


  • Please log in to reply

6 replies to this topic

#1 kathrynk

 
kathrynk

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
 

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:33 AM

can someone tell me what brand of ketchup, mustard, and mayo are safe?! I am a newbie to gluten-free and I have messed up quite a bit this week...I am learning so much on here! Thanks everyone!
  • 0
Kathy
Diagnosed with Sjrogren's in 2010
Diagnosed with Reynauds in 2010
Diagnosed with Hashimotos Thyroid Nov 2011-due to enlarged thyroid with nodules
October 2011-started having stomach cramping and gas pains-mostly in the evenings
end of November 2011-removed gluten
Dec 2011-celiac panel negative

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,312 posts
 

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:39 AM

I think most of them in the US are gluten-free. Check mustard for beer. I use either Heinz or Hunts ketchup. I use Grey Poupon mustard, but read the ingredients because they may have a "beer" version.

Something helpful for you is : ConAgra (lots of brands will say ConAgra in the small print)& Kraft clearly label any gluten in the ingredients. So if it doesn't say, wheat, rye, or barley, its not there.

Be careful sharing something in a jar with a gluten eater. A knife in the Mayo could get bread crumbs in there. Squirt jars are safer or mark one for your gluten-free use only.
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


#3 kathrynk

 
kathrynk

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 36 posts
 

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:43 AM

I think most of them in the US are gluten-free. Check mustard for beer. I use either Heinz or Hunts ketchup. I use Grey Poupon mustard, but read the ingredients because they may have a "beer" version.

Something helpful for you is : ConAgra (lots of brands will say ConAgra in the small print)& Kraft clearly label any gluten in the ingredients. So if it doesn't say, wheat, rye, or barley, its not there.

Be careful sharing something in a jar with a gluten eater. A knife in the Mayo could get bread crumbs in there. Squirt jars are safer or mark one for your gluten-free use only.



Thank you! That is very helpful. Is mayo safe otherwise (without cross contaminated knives)?
  • 0
Kathy
Diagnosed with Sjrogren's in 2010
Diagnosed with Reynauds in 2010
Diagnosed with Hashimotos Thyroid Nov 2011-due to enlarged thyroid with nodules
October 2011-started having stomach cramping and gas pains-mostly in the evenings
end of November 2011-removed gluten
Dec 2011-celiac panel negative

#4 lovegrov

 
lovegrov

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,537 posts
 

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:45 AM

in the U.S., pretty much every ketchup and mayo is gluten-free. A handful of specialty mustards have either wheat or barley but it's pretty much listed in the ingredients. But don't use old jars that have been dipped into by a knife that might have bread crumbs.

richard
  • 0

#5 kareng

 
kareng

    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,312 posts
 

Posted 29 November 2011 - 10:46 AM

Thank you! That is very helpful. Is mayo safe otherwise (without cross contaminated knives)?


Probably. Read the ingredients. I don't eat it.

If its a Kraft or ConAgra one they will be certain to spell it out in the ingredients.
  • 0

santa-dance.gif

 

Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
 
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
 
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone
 
 
 
 
 

 


#6 GFreeMO

 
GFreeMO

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,330 posts
 

Posted 29 November 2011 - 12:13 PM

Heinz ketchup and Hellmans mayo both say gluten free on them by the ingredients on the back. All of Frenches mustards are safe. Check on the FAQ of their website.
  • 0

#7 mtdewpeg

 
mtdewpeg

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 18 posts
 

Posted 01 January 2012 - 11:44 AM

I called Krogers on Friday to check on condiments. The lady looked them up and said their storebrand of catsup,regular whipped salad dressing,mayo,mustard and tartar sauce is gluten free.
I am new too and trying to learn what I can and can't use.
  • 0




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: