#1 joyfulmommyofmany

joyfulmommyofmany

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 04:13 PM

I am pretty new to this.

I am thinking of getting better batter, pamelas baking mix or sunflour mills whole grain mix.
Or anyothers that are favorites out there.

I can't stand any of the ones that have beans in it like bobs red mill and another one I can't think of the name of it so it can't have beans in it.

I am looking for two different kinds one that is great for christmas cookies so like a white flour blend and then another for whole grain recipes like whole grain bread.

Is there any that you have as a favorite?

I was going to order Better Batter and more of the Sunflour mills whole grain mix. I did test it out on pumpkin bread and it was soooooo good!! and it was whole grain. :)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 coffeetime

coffeetime

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 86 posts

Posted 29 November 2011 - 05:16 PM

I really don't like Bob's Red Mill, it has a off taste to me. I keep two different ones on hand--Namesta All-Purpose and Pamela's Baking and Pancake Mix. I now use Pamela's exclusively for cookies, muffins, and cakes with Namesta for breads. I made blueberry muffins and gingersnap cookies over the weekend and none of our guest knew the difference. I haven't tried Better Batter as it's not available at the stores I shop at but if I run across it I am definitely going to give it a try.

#3 missmellie

missmellie

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 30 November 2011 - 05:53 AM

Pamela's is good, but be careful if you can't handle dairy. Some of her products contain dairy. I didn't read and discovered it the hard way.

Miss Mellie

Aug. 2010 IgA+ Gliadin; IgA+ Casein; IgA+ Egg; IgA+ Soy.
Sept. 2010 IgG+ for cow's milk, peach, yeast, chili pepper, egg white & yolk, lentil, soy, cola nut, coriander/cumin/dill, nutmeg/peppercorn, sesame seed, turkey, and wheat