This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac Disease And The Workplace

Jen H

Jen H Contributor

Hi everyone,

I recently found out I have celiac disease and I had to leave my job because my symptoms prevented me from getting through the workday. I was constantly sick, and as a teacher, I didn't think it was fair to myself or the students to not be there regularly.

I decided not to work this coming school year until I am feeling better. Now that I have an answer for my illness, I can begin the healing process. However, I feel extremely guilty for not being able to work. I feel like I am not pulling my weight in my marriage, but I can't control being sick. I'm a bit down about the situation. Have any of you been out of work for an extended period of time due to celiac disease? How do you cope with your symptoms?

Thanks, Jen

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

higgins Newbie

Oh boy...have you got a week? I have just recently had to close my law practice due to celiac disease-related complications. After so many years of functioning under one set of expectations, it is a tough job trying to adjust. Well, I guess that's why we're all here - to listen and to help if we can.

emeraldskies Rookie