Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Does Yeast Have Gluten In It?


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 BeFree

BeFree

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 06:56 AM

I noticed the pizza I ate yesterday contained "gluten-free yeast". Uh...yeast doesn't ever have gluten, does it????
  • 0
Gluten-Free as of September 2011

Brian, there's a message in my Alphabits...it says 'Oooooooo'.
Peter, those are Cheerios.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,989 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 07:27 AM

No, it doesn't.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 Kate79

Kate79

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 145 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 10:16 AM

Liquid brewer's yeast can have gluten in it, as it's often started with beer as the nutrient, but that's only an issue if you want to make your own beer, wine or cider. Regular baking yeast (and, I believe, dry brewing yeast) is gluten-free.
  • 0

#4 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,989 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 10:33 AM

Brewer's yeast, the spent yeast from fermenting beer, can not be labeled as simply "yeast." It must say "brewer's yeast." It is used for flavoring, not leavening.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#5 BeFree

BeFree

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts

Posted 05 December 2011 - 01:38 PM

OK that's what I thought. Thanks!
  • 0
Gluten-Free as of September 2011

Brian, there's a message in my Alphabits...it says 'Oooooooo'.
Peter, those are Cheerios.


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: