Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Packaging/labelling Issues!
0

5 posts in this topic

I'm not going to say where I bought this chocolate or the kind, but if on the outer box list of ingredients differ from the smaller ones inside it (warehouse packaging)is that an issue? I got glutened because the outer box listed:

Sugar, unsweetened chocolate, glucose, cocoa butter, butter oil, soya lecithin, natural and artificial flavour, citric acid, ivertase.

But, look at the inner box difference:

Sugar, unsweetened chocolate, glucose(MADE FROM CORN AND/OR WHEAT), cocoa butter, butter oil (made from milk), soya lecithin, natural and artificial flavour, citric acid, ivertase.

Do you think I should contact the company or is this normal to not list the full ingredients on outside of warehouse packaging?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

If we are talking about a case which contains packages intended for individual retail sale, then there is no requirement to list ingredients on the outer case at all.

The Canadian Celiac Association lists glucose as "allowed," being "a common sugar used as sweetener." The manufacturing process yields pure sugar, which is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If we are talking about a case which contains packages intended for individual retail sale, then there is no requirement to list ingredients on the outer case at all.

The Canadian Celiac Association lists glucose as "allowed," being "a common sugar used as sweetener." The manufacturing process yields pure sugar, which is gluten-free.

That's good to know that they aren't REQUIRED to put it on, HOWEVER why do they put SELECTIVE ones on? I ended up contacting the company and am waiting to see what they say...it could have been CC on the factory line too!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, it is not selective. Both ingredient lists list the exact same nine ingredients, in the same order.

The difference is that the second one also has allergen information embedded. Allergen information is required on the retail package, and placing it in parentheses after the affected ingredient(s) is one permissible way to do it.

An alternative would be to use the first ingredients list, and also have the statement:

"Contains: wheat, milk and soy."

The order of the ingredients list is significant, as it is in descending order by weight. The contains statement may list the allergens in any order, but must list all of them. In this example, soy is in the contains statement, but the allergen is clearly disclosed in the ingredient name, "soya lecithin." Butter needs to be disclosed as "milk" since milk is the common name of the allergen.

I realize that this sounds picky, and it is, but we are dealing with complex legal regulations. Ingredient lists are legally regulated documents. Some words have meanings that differ from common usage. When we talk about "starch" in conversation, it can be many things, but the single word "starch" in an ingredient list must be pure corn starch.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, it is not selective. Both ingredient lists list the exact same nine ingredients, in the same order.

The difference is that the second one also has allergen information embedded. Allergen information is required on the retail package, and placing it in parentheses after the affected ingredient(s) is one permissible way to do it.

An alternative would be to use the first ingredients list, and also have the statement:

"Contains: wheat, milk and soy."

The order of the ingredients list is significant, as it is in descending order by weight. The contains statement may list the allergens in any order, but must list all of them. In this example, soy is in the contains statement, but the allergen is clearly disclosed in the ingredient name, "soya lecithin." Butter needs to be disclosed as "milk" since milk is the common name of the allergen.

I realize that this sounds picky, and it is, but we are dealing with complex legal regulations. Ingredient lists are legally regulated documents. Some words have meanings that differ from common usage. When we talk about "starch" in conversation, it can be many things, but the single word "starch" in an ingredient list must be pure corn starch.

Thanks! I appreciate you explaining it to me! I don't understand all those regulations! :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,099
    • Total Posts
      920,353
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • What if it were something else that glutened you?  Maybe you ate too much of a good thing?  I once (three months post dx) ate too much gluten-free fried chicken, vomited, passed out and fractured my back (osteoporosis) in the process.  Paramedics, ER doc and Cardio all thought I was having a heart attack.   No.  It was sheer gluttony and bad bones.  Not good to overload with a damaged gut.    Maybe you did get some contaminated nuts.  Afterall, anything processed is suspect.  What might be well tolerated by some, might be too much for others.  We all have our various levels of gluten intolerance.   The old 20 parts per million is just a guideline, but science does not really know (lack of funding......doe anyone really care enough to find out?)  My hubby has been gluten-free for 15 years.  When I was first diagnosed, I tried to eat the gluten-free foods that I normally gave him.   Problem was he was healed and I was not.  Things like Xanthan Gum in commercial processed gluten-free breads make me feel like I have been glutened, but it is just (and still is) an intolerance.  So no bread for me unless I make it myself using a different gum.   Too lazy, so I do without.   so, ask your doctor if you really want to know or lay off the cashews and test them again in a month using a certified gluten-free nut.  I wish this was easier!    
    • I have intolerances to a few foods now, so I was wondering about that.. I love cashews though, and a month or two ago I was eating them all the time with no problems at all. I mean, could I really have developed an intolerance to them since then? I don't know if they're made on shared lines (it didn't say on the package so I assumed they weren't), but I'll give them a call. I'm really, really sensitive to cross contamination. Even if something is just made in the same facility (but not on shared lines) it will make me sick. If that's not it, then I'm not really sure
    • Research with KP and find a celiac-savvy GI in your area ( read the biographies). and ask your PCP/GP for a referral to that specific GI (not his buddy).  Ask the GI for the rest  of the celiac panel or proceed with an endoscopy/biopsies -- 4 to six.  Keep eating gluten daily until all testing is complete.  Document and request in writing.  Do not worry about symptoms.  There are over 300 of them and some celiacs have none!   Research all that you can about celiac disease.  The University of Chicago has a great celiac website that has testing Information etc.   Poet me know how it works out.  Hope you feel better soon!  
    • I react to both wheat and barley.  I've opted to just go completely gluten free, for the sake of simplicity and my sanity.  I don't have a diagnosis of celiac disease, but I strongly suspect it.  Unfortunately, I'm not willing to endure the misery of staying on gluten long enough to pursue further testing.  I just know I need to avoid the gluten grains, so I do.  
    • I think that we have to remember that celiacs often develop intolerances due to our  damaged guts.  Our guts do not ncessarily heal either (usually adults) for  a variety of reasons even if their symptoms improve (see links below).   Nuts are just plain hard to digest.   I can not tolerate almonds, but can handle walnuts and cashews in small amounts.  I can eat peanuts too, but resort to Peanutbutter after a Glutening as it is easier to digest (maybe I have to learn to chew better!  😀)  My nut symptoms have  nothing to do with gluten as I have purchased certified gluten-free nuts and suffered with the same symptoms.  .   https://www.verywell.com/celiac-disease-when-will-your-small-intestine-recover-562341 http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/treatment/ http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23936873 i call the manufacturer when I suspect the manufacturer is sharing the line or if I just want to know.  I bought some Black English walnuts and called the company.  Those are the only nuts they process and they do not have any flavored nuts.   if you really want to test your theory out, buy some nuts from Nuts.com (certified gluten-free).   See if you get a reaction or ask your GI to retest your antibodies (which should be done annually anyway).   I just hate to have Planters get a bum rap when you do not really know for sure.......😥    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,133
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Mycaringkidsmom
    Joined