Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Packaging/labelling Issues!
0

5 posts in this topic

I'm not going to say where I bought this chocolate or the kind, but if on the outer box list of ingredients differ from the smaller ones inside it (warehouse packaging)is that an issue? I got glutened because the outer box listed:

Sugar, unsweetened chocolate, glucose, cocoa butter, butter oil, soya lecithin, natural and artificial flavour, citric acid, ivertase.

But, look at the inner box difference:

Sugar, unsweetened chocolate, glucose(MADE FROM CORN AND/OR WHEAT), cocoa butter, butter oil (made from milk), soya lecithin, natural and artificial flavour, citric acid, ivertase.

Do you think I should contact the company or is this normal to not list the full ingredients on outside of warehouse packaging?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

If we are talking about a case which contains packages intended for individual retail sale, then there is no requirement to list ingredients on the outer case at all.

The Canadian Celiac Association lists glucose as "allowed," being "a common sugar used as sweetener." The manufacturing process yields pure sugar, which is gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If we are talking about a case which contains packages intended for individual retail sale, then there is no requirement to list ingredients on the outer case at all.

The Canadian Celiac Association lists glucose as "allowed," being "a common sugar used as sweetener." The manufacturing process yields pure sugar, which is gluten-free.

That's good to know that they aren't REQUIRED to put it on, HOWEVER why do they put SELECTIVE ones on? I ended up contacting the company and am waiting to see what they say...it could have been CC on the factory line too!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, it is not selective. Both ingredient lists list the exact same nine ingredients, in the same order.

The difference is that the second one also has allergen information embedded. Allergen information is required on the retail package, and placing it in parentheses after the affected ingredient(s) is one permissible way to do it.

An alternative would be to use the first ingredients list, and also have the statement:

"Contains: wheat, milk and soy."

The order of the ingredients list is significant, as it is in descending order by weight. The contains statement may list the allergens in any order, but must list all of them. In this example, soy is in the contains statement, but the allergen is clearly disclosed in the ingredient name, "soya lecithin." Butter needs to be disclosed as "milk" since milk is the common name of the allergen.

I realize that this sounds picky, and it is, but we are dealing with complex legal regulations. Ingredient lists are legally regulated documents. Some words have meanings that differ from common usage. When we talk about "starch" in conversation, it can be many things, but the single word "starch" in an ingredient list must be pure corn starch.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, it is not selective. Both ingredient lists list the exact same nine ingredients, in the same order.

The difference is that the second one also has allergen information embedded. Allergen information is required on the retail package, and placing it in parentheses after the affected ingredient(s) is one permissible way to do it.

An alternative would be to use the first ingredients list, and also have the statement:

"Contains: wheat, milk and soy."

The order of the ingredients list is significant, as it is in descending order by weight. The contains statement may list the allergens in any order, but must list all of them. In this example, soy is in the contains statement, but the allergen is clearly disclosed in the ingredient name, "soya lecithin." Butter needs to be disclosed as "milk" since milk is the common name of the allergen.

I realize that this sounds picky, and it is, but we are dealing with complex legal regulations. Ingredient lists are legally regulated documents. Some words have meanings that differ from common usage. When we talk about "starch" in conversation, it can be many things, but the single word "starch" in an ingredient list must be pure corn starch.

Thanks! I appreciate you explaining it to me! I don't understand all those regulations! :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.