Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Taco Bell


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 fourtoone

fourtoone

    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 07 December 2011 - 02:32 PM

I looked on Taco Bell's website and on the Sensitivities page, it lists Red Sauce as containing no gluten or wheat. But on the Ingredients page, it states that Red Sauce contains Yeast Extract (Contains Gluten). UGH! Does anyone know whether it actually contains gluten?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer

psawyer

    Moderator

  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,003 posts

Posted 07 December 2011 - 03:26 PM

Yeast extract is gluten-free, unless something foreign is added to it. It does, however, contain MSG which is often mistakenly thought to contain gluten.
  • 0
Peter
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 Cathey

Cathey

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 120 posts

Posted 07 December 2011 - 03:37 PM

Why, if your gluten-free would you eat Taco Bell? Too mush of CC in that place for me. Make the tacos @ home.
  • 0

#4 modiddly16

modiddly16

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 600 posts

Posted 08 December 2011 - 09:11 AM

There isn't much gluten free at Taco Bell as it stands...I'd probably find another dining option!
  • 0

#5 Skylark

Skylark

    Glutenologist

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts

Posted 08 December 2011 - 10:37 AM

I looked on Taco Bell's website and on the Sensitivities page, it lists Red Sauce as containing no gluten or wheat. But on the Ingredients page, it states that Red Sauce contains Yeast Extract (Contains Gluten). UGH! Does anyone know whether it actually contains gluten?

Yeast extract is usually safe but if Taco Bell states it contains gluten I sure wouldn't eat it. Why on earth would you take the chance?
  • 0

#6 Goof

Goof

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 08 December 2011 - 02:04 PM

Agree with Skylark. I'd stay away from it. Personally, now that there's a Qdoba AND Chipotle within 10 minutes of me, Taco Bell just does not appeal to me any more.
  • 0

#7 mbrookes

mbrookes

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 629 posts

Posted 10 December 2011 - 03:12 PM

Some of us are not as fortunate as you are, Goof. Taco Bell is it around here.
  • 0

#8 Celtic Queen

Celtic Queen

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 286 posts

Posted 14 December 2011 - 11:28 AM

According to my eating out app the only two things that are safe at Taco bell are the pinto beans and rice. I know from personal experience that the meat has gluten in it. I stay away from there since there's nothing I can eat.
  • 0

Blood tested 8-11 positive, Biopsy 9-11 negative (long story, most gastro drs. are morons)

gluten-free 7-11, Dairy Free (mostly) 8-13 - Everything but butter.  Can't live life without butter....
 

DS - negative blood test, just diagnosed with ADD and other learning disorders, DNA test positive - high risk

Issues related to gluten: depression, low iron, hair loss, positive ana test for lupus, low vitamin D, headache, sinusitis, environmental allergies, brain fog, GI problems, weight gain....the list goes on....



0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: