Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Could The Milky Way Ingredients Have Been Misleading?
0

10 posts in this topic

Hello all! I am still quite new to this whole diet, being introdcued only before Thankksgiving. From the start of this diet, I've seen good imporvement, which makes me happy. Anyways, I just got a Milky Way bar a few minutes ago, read up online a bit, read the ingredients (I'm already pretty knowledgeable of the good and bad of ingredients, but not wholly familiar), and it seemed okay. I saw no wheat ingredients, but I DID see an ingredient listed as "Malted Barley". Now, I knew that most things "Matled" cannot be good news. What lead me to believe it's gluten-free status was printed on the bottom: the allergy information, "MAY CONTAIN PEANUTS". Now, if wheat or gluten was in that product, it would've also listed "CONTAINS WHEAT INGREDIENTS", right? Since it said nothing about wheat, and was made by Mars (which I heard was very good about giving you correct allergy information and ingredients on their products), I thought that it must be okay. The doctor described me as having "Latent Celiac Disease", I've felt slightly better after the diet, and my mornings have been much less agonizing. I don't exactly get "glutened" when I eat products with gluten, but I do experience very slight discomfot and burping, which I've been having after eating this. Should I saty away from these for good, or am I okay? My body can't exactly give me the asnwers....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hello and welcome. I'm glad you are feeling better. You are correct that Mars is very good about labeling and they used the word "barley" to warn you.

We can NEVER eat wheat, rye, or barley, and you want to avoid oats unless they state they have been tested for gluten. "Contains wheat ingredients" only covers wheat. If you see a rye or barley ingredient like malted barley anywhere in the ingredients, the food is not safe to eat. You cannot eat any more Milky Way Bars, or other candies with malt, barley malt, or malted barley.

There is an unsafe ingredient list here. You might want to print it out and keep a copy until you are more used to the label reading. It's a pain!

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, and avoid oats until you are 100% well. At that point you can cautiously try adding some gluten-free oats and see if you can tolerate them. Some celiacs react to the gluten-like protein in oats as badly as if it were wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Milky way dark bars are gluten free!!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the board, and welcome to the process of learning to read labels.

The Milky Way bar contains gluten (barley malt), and is not safe for us.

Gluten, defined in terms of celiac disease, is a protein found in three grains: wheat, rye and barley. Oats are generally contaminated with wheat, and a minority of us also react to pure oats.

The list of top allergens that must be disclosed includes wheat, but not the other three.

"Contains" and "May Contain" are different animals, too.

In the US, if a top-eight allergen is present, it must be listed by its common name, EITHER in the ingredients list OR in a contains statement. Only allergens may be listed in the contains statement. The eight allergens under the federal Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) are: wheat, soy, milk, peanuts, eggs, tree nuts, fish, and crustacean shellfish. Since barley and rye are not on that list, they will never appear in a "contains" statement. (In Canada, the list also includes sulfites and sesame seeds.)

If there is a "contains" statement, it must list every allergen present. But, again, barley and rye are NOT "allergens" as defined by the label regulations.

In this example, barley was listed in the ingredients by name. As someone new to this, I understand your confusion. But the label is not misleading, and conforms to the rules. You can not rely solely on the "Contains" statement to identify gluten. You'll know about wheat, but not barley or rye.

Rye is not something you need to worry about. It is in very few foods, and those are confined to selected baked goods where you would expect it, like rye bread and pumpernickel. In my experience, it is always clearly listed on the label.

"May contain" means that the ingredient is not intentionally present, but despite Good Manufacturing Practices and other precautions, it is not possible to be sure that trace contamination does not occur. Like the previous discussion, only ingredients legally described as allergens will be listed.

And, last, a list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." This makes shopping MUCH easier.

Edit: Three other posts were made while I was composing this.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Great explanation, Peter!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you very, very much Skylark and psawyer, I appreciate the help and explanation tremendously! I didn't have a reaction to the Milky Way bar when I ate it before the post but I do now understand that it is harmful, and to look out for anything with "Barley". But I have one more question, say that something just had malt as an ingredient or did not have something like Barley, Wheat, Rye, etc. at the end but it was "Malted" something else. Is this Malt ingredient harmful, as well? I think I remember hearing something about Malt ingredients not being safe. I appreciate it! And also to AMom2010, I'm very happy to hear that the midnight edition is gluten free. Milky Way is my favorite and although I'm a little upset with having to part with the original, the midnight not being quite as good, I'm still happy that I can enjoy one Milky Way product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "Simply Caramel" version of Milky Way is also gluten free. It's closer to the original than Midnight. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,698
    • Total Posts
      921,787
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • When it's that high, it almost always means Celiac.  Sure, you can have Crohns, too.  Just like you can have Celiac and diabetes, the common cold or a hang nail.  I wouldn't jump to Chrohns.  I don't think the tTg really has anything to do with Chrohns?  Where did you see that?  Sometimes, a slightly elevate tTg can be elevated from other issues, but >100 is not a " slightly elevated" reading
    • Hi! I'm new here, and I'm looking for some information because I'm having a hard time finding it.  Over Labor Day weekend I got some kind of intestinal bug. I didn't think much of it until the D persisted once a day up til now. I tried a priobiotic but that didn't help much. I have bad anxiety and began to think that I was just anxious and stressed. No fever, no pain, all bloodwork is normal, so no infection or anemia. My mother has 5 siblings and 3 have celiac. One other one had a high result on a blood test but was never officially diagnosed and insists she doesn't have it. So I went to my local health fair and got the ttg-iga test, just in case. My result came back at >100. So I have called and scheduled a visit with a GI for next week. Aside from the recent intestinal issues I have never thought that I had any signs of celiac. I do have dermatographism and have had that since I was 20 (I am 28). I have severe anxiety. I had PUPPPS when I was pregnant with my daughter and it was miserable. It looks much like the skin rashes that celiacs have. Again, didn't think much of it. Because of my anxiety I am terrified that this high blood test is from something else, like crohn's. I don't have diabetes, my liver and thyroid numbers are fine. I think it's much more plausible that this is celiac because of my family history. But my anxiety says "what if it's crohns?" Does anyone have any insight? Is it true that the ttg iga can be elevated from crohns and not celiac? Is >100 pretty definitive of celiac? I didn't know if crohns was the cause if the number would be this high.  I'm just freaked out. 
    • This does say it is for NCGS....so not  for Celiacs.  There is a drug being developed that may actually break down the gluten in the stomach before it hits the intestines.  However, that is still in clinical trials.
    • could be from your neck, or it is, literally, in your head. perhaps a scan is needed.
    • The anxiety thing is there I take teas, and supplements along with CBD oil to help with it, and long walks and exercise when I get antsy. As for the human interaction it is a mix of other mental issues, and the way I feel about people who can eat gluten. If they are not eating I have no issue talking with people. I mentioned I have issues accepting them as the same species when I see them eating. My reaction to gluten is so ingrained in me that it is not a food but a poison, that watching others eat it causes a subconscious reaction where I find myself avoiding them and looking down on them like something from another planet. I end up disgusted with them and walking away, I will go out of my way to avoid people and places where foods like this are present. This is my TRAUMA part of the gluten exposure, and one of the big things I am trying to address in my life right now. I know it is irrational to do so but I end up doing it, I have never cared about others race, religion, or looks, but if I see them eating a gluten/poison, it somehow changes how I perceive them and interact with them and I hate this part about me. It is taking a lot of mental effort to try to smile and treat them as a human, and not something to be looked down upon in disgust. I just recall that mental state that gluten puts me in with my mind and body turning against me and not doing what I will it and the fear comes back. This diet is pretty much like mine, I take Doctors best Magnesium powder in a tea that is actually brewed with st johns wort (never thought much of it) , I use Liquid Health Stress & Energy along with the Neurologic Support they have, twice-three times a day for B vitamins(along with a bunch of other supplements) . I can not digest meats or carbs well, meats it is a issue with breaking them down same with egg yolks, I literally just burp up the undigested meats hours later. I have found the only way to eat them is to boil/slow cook them til they melt then blend them into a broth and have it with digestive enzymes so only do it with turkey bacon, longhorn, and salmon in small amounts in soups or for flavoring stock for stir frys.  As for Carbs like rice and potatoes I end up getting really gassy and bloated, same with sugars in any amount greater then like the size of my thumb give or take. Oats I only have gluten-free Harvest in about a tbsp amount when tasting recipes of stuff I sell at farmers markets. So I eat mostly fats and protein from egg whites, nuts, seeds, veggies, and vegan protein powders blends balanced for complete proteins. I have at least 1-2 dried fig, dates, handful of banana chips, or a 1/4 of a small fruit with meals for fruits.  My meals are mostly egg white and veggie omelettes, stir frys, and soups, Always with lots of fats and proteins in each meal. I have found having nutritional yeast to help with my mood and energy levels also and find someway of having it in meals often. I keep my foods on rotation and keep getting updated feed back on ratios with my dietician. I also have a rather odd list of foods I can not eat due to allergies/intolerance.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,704
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Fbmb
    Joined