Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Could The Milky Way Ingredients Have Been Misleading?
0

10 posts in this topic

Hello all! I am still quite new to this whole diet, being introdcued only before Thankksgiving. From the start of this diet, I've seen good imporvement, which makes me happy. Anyways, I just got a Milky Way bar a few minutes ago, read up online a bit, read the ingredients (I'm already pretty knowledgeable of the good and bad of ingredients, but not wholly familiar), and it seemed okay. I saw no wheat ingredients, but I DID see an ingredient listed as "Malted Barley". Now, I knew that most things "Matled" cannot be good news. What lead me to believe it's gluten-free status was printed on the bottom: the allergy information, "MAY CONTAIN PEANUTS". Now, if wheat or gluten was in that product, it would've also listed "CONTAINS WHEAT INGREDIENTS", right? Since it said nothing about wheat, and was made by Mars (which I heard was very good about giving you correct allergy information and ingredients on their products), I thought that it must be okay. The doctor described me as having "Latent Celiac Disease", I've felt slightly better after the diet, and my mornings have been much less agonizing. I don't exactly get "glutened" when I eat products with gluten, but I do experience very slight discomfot and burping, which I've been having after eating this. Should I saty away from these for good, or am I okay? My body can't exactly give me the asnwers....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hello and welcome. I'm glad you are feeling better. You are correct that Mars is very good about labeling and they used the word "barley" to warn you.

We can NEVER eat wheat, rye, or barley, and you want to avoid oats unless they state they have been tested for gluten. "Contains wheat ingredients" only covers wheat. If you see a rye or barley ingredient like malted barley anywhere in the ingredients, the food is not safe to eat. You cannot eat any more Milky Way Bars, or other candies with malt, barley malt, or malted barley.

There is an unsafe ingredient list here. You might want to print it out and keep a copy until you are more used to the label reading. It's a pain!

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Oh, and avoid oats until you are 100% well. At that point you can cautiously try adding some gluten-free oats and see if you can tolerate them. Some celiacs react to the gluten-like protein in oats as badly as if it were wheat.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Milky way dark bars are gluten free!!

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Welcome to the board, and welcome to the process of learning to read labels.

The Milky Way bar contains gluten (barley malt), and is not safe for us.

Gluten, defined in terms of celiac disease, is a protein found in three grains: wheat, rye and barley. Oats are generally contaminated with wheat, and a minority of us also react to pure oats.

The list of top allergens that must be disclosed includes wheat, but not the other three.

"Contains" and "May Contain" are different animals, too.

In the US, if a top-eight allergen is present, it must be listed by its common name, EITHER in the ingredients list OR in a contains statement. Only allergens may be listed in the contains statement. The eight allergens under the federal Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA) are: wheat, soy, milk, peanuts, eggs, tree nuts, fish, and crustacean shellfish. Since barley and rye are not on that list, they will never appear in a "contains" statement. (In Canada, the list also includes sulfites and sesame seeds.)

If there is a "contains" statement, it must list every allergen present. But, again, barley and rye are NOT "allergens" as defined by the label regulations.

In this example, barley was listed in the ingredients by name. As someone new to this, I understand your confusion. But the label is not misleading, and conforms to the rules. You can not rely solely on the "Contains" statement to identify gluten. You'll know about wheat, but not barley or rye.

Rye is not something you need to worry about. It is in very few foods, and those are confined to selected baked goods where you would expect it, like rye bread and pumpernickel. In my experience, it is always clearly listed on the label.

"May contain" means that the ingredient is not intentionally present, but despite Good Manufacturing Practices and other precautions, it is not possible to be sure that trace contamination does not occur. Like the previous discussion, only ingredients legally described as allergens will be listed.

And, last, a list of companies that has a clear gluten policy. If you don't see "wheat, rye, barley, barley malt, oats" on the labels, its not there, or hidden in "flavors, starches, etc." This makes shopping MUCH easier.

Edit: Three other posts were made while I was composing this.

2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Great explanation, Peter!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thank you very, very much Skylark and psawyer, I appreciate the help and explanation tremendously! I didn't have a reaction to the Milky Way bar when I ate it before the post but I do now understand that it is harmful, and to look out for anything with "Barley". But I have one more question, say that something just had malt as an ingredient or did not have something like Barley, Wheat, Rye, etc. at the end but it was "Malted" something else. Is this Malt ingredient harmful, as well? I think I remember hearing something about Malt ingredients not being safe. I appreciate it! And also to AMom2010, I'm very happy to hear that the midnight edition is gluten free. Milky Way is my favorite and although I'm a little upset with having to part with the original, the midnight not being quite as good, I'm still happy that I can enjoy one Milky Way product.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The "Simply Caramel" version of Milky Way is also gluten free. It's closer to the original than Midnight. :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,344
    • Total Posts
      920,486
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats of gastro in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from which looking back may have been related. Then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! I'm also still recovering from last Friday and wondering when I'm going to feel better. I've stayed off gluten and dairy since my blood result a couple of days ago but feel like I'm allergic to food in general.  Thankyou!!    
    • Here's what the Klondike Bar makers say on the FAQ page of their website (August 2016): Are your products gluten free? Nope. They are not. We have not validated for gluten free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
    • I tried the iodine test but couldn't leave it on very long because it itched too much. I left it on maybe 30 minutes lol. Did anyone try it and have the same response??
    • Had my scope today. Dr said my esophagus is damaged and stomach inflamed. Waiting on biopsy results. Taking protonic and flagyl and he said to go ahead and try cutting gluten out to see if that helps. Thanks for the feedback everyone! 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,414
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Vic40
    Joined