Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Orange Juice
0

15 posts in this topic

Hi Everyone,

I was just wondering if flordia natural orange juice is gluten free.

Thanks a lot Andrew

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Is there anything in it that would make you suspect it's not gluten-free?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I can't imagine why there would be gluten in plain fruit juice. If anybody has a confirmed example, please share it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It should be gluten free, but if you are having trouble with it, you might have an allergy to citrus, or your villi might not be able to handle it yet. Weird things happen with many different foods in the process of healing the Celiac digestive tract. :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, the way liquid orange juice (as opposed to frozen) is produced, it is possible there could be gluten in it.

I was told that the best way to guarantee that your orange juice is gluten-free is if you buy the frozen type, which is pure concentrate.

When they make liquid oj, they add flavors that make it taste more "orange-y". That's why you'll notice a flavor difference between brands. I mean, if orange juice is orange juice, there shouldn't be a difference in taste no matter what brand you buy, right?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Actually, the way liquid orange juice (as opposed to frozen) is produced, it is possible there could be gluten in it.

I was told that the best way to guarantee that your orange juice is gluten-free is if you buy the frozen type, which is pure concentrate.

When they make liquid oj, they add flavors that make it taste more "orange-y". That's why you'll notice a flavor difference between brands. I mean, if orange juice is orange juice, there shouldn't be a difference in taste no matter what brand you buy, right?

Depends on what type of oranges are used. They would also have to list whether flavorings are used and I have never seen oj with flavorings listed on the carton. Last of all....flavorings rarely contain gluten. You should always check your source but I have never come across any flavoring that contained gluten in the 7 years I have been gluten free. The odds of oj containing any gluten are next to none.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, the way liquid orange juice (as opposed to frozen) is produced, it is possible there could be gluten in it.

I was told that the best way to guarantee that your orange juice is gluten-free is if you buy the frozen type, which is pure concentrate.

When they make liquid oj, they add flavors that make it taste more "orange-y". That's why you'll notice a flavor difference between brands. I mean, if orange juice is orange juice, there shouldn't be a difference in taste no matter what brand you buy, right?

I saw this on TV a couple of weeks ago, too. It didn't mention anything about gluten. Apparently, they add some concentrated orange flavor (from other oranges) because when they mass process, it looses some flavor.

I saw that on TV, I'll see if I can find something.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't know why you would say it has gluten. Here we go:

After oranges are picked, they are shipped off to be processed. They are squeezed and pasteurized and, if they are not bound for frozen concentrate, are kept in aseptic storage, which involves stripping the juice of oxygen in a process called "deaeration," and kept in million-gallon tanks for up to a year.

Before packaging and shipping, the juice is then jazzed up with an added flavor pack, gleaned from orange byproducts such as the peel and pulp, to compensate for the loss of taste and aroma during the heating process.

Different brands use different flavor packs to give their product its unique and always consistent taste. Minute Maid, for example, has a distinctive candy-sweet flavor.

Kristen Gunter, executive director of the Florida Citrus Processors Association, confirmed that juices are blended and stored and that flavor packs are added to pasteurized juice before shipping to stores.

Flavor packs are created from the volatile compounds that escape from the orange during the pasteurization step.

But, she said, "It's not made in a lab or made in a chemical process, but comes through the physical process of boiling and capturing the [orange essence]."

The Food and Drug Administration does not require adding flavor packs to the labeling of pasteurized juice (which includes the from-concentrate as well as the not-from-concentrate versions), because, "it is the orange,"

http://abcnews.go.com/Health/orange-juice-moms-secret-ingredient-worries/story?id=15154617

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's a bit of a turn-off for me.... :(and I love orange juice.

I wonder if the concentrated version would be less tampered with?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I never said it DID have gluten, I said it COULD have gluten.

If it doesn't specifically say "gluten-free" on the package, there is no guarantee that there isn't gluten in it. There are all sorts of additives to orange juice.

The term natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional. Natural flavors include the natural essence or extractives obtained from plants listed in 182.10, 182.20, 182.40, and 182.50 and part 184 of this chapter, and the substances listed in 172.510 of this chapter.

Straight from the FDA website. It doesn't say anything about the natural flavoring coming directly from the source it is related to (such as orange flavoring from oranges). They can use anything they want as long as it's derived naturally from a food source.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If it doesn't specifically say "gluten-free" on the package, there is no guarantee that there isn't gluten in it. There are all sorts of additives to orange juice.

There is no legal standard adopted in the US to determine what is to eligible to be labeled gluten free. Gluten free labeling is totally voluntary at this time.

I would prefer to be a good label reader, to insure for myself that what I am eating is suitable for my diet. A product labeled "gluten free" means nothing to me at this time....just sayin' B)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

They can use anything they want as long as it's derived naturally from a food source.

No, as I understand it to believe that they don't have to list any additives of flavors if it's derived from an Orange source.

If wheat were added, it by law would be required to be listed as a source or ingredient.

I would find it highly improbable that OJ would contain any gluten.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I like this...it has pictures :P

http://www.ultimatecitrus.com/pdf/fcoj.pdf

But, of course, the human factors could have eaten a bologna sandwich for lunch or suffin' :ph34r::P

Good for you. You just made my point by providing a picture of how FROZEN OJ is made. The issue I brought up was with supposed "fresh" orange. You see, that cute little tank where they do the blending is where they add all the extra stuff in. Frozen OJ bypasses that whole stage.

From http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/Browse/file/plate%20fall07.pdf

Even on the Meijer website, it stated that natural flavors may contain gluten or allergens.

On the "Is That Gluten Free?" app (which I know is not 100% but pretty darn good) I see that Kroger and Meijer both list their OJ as gluten free, but Tropicana, Minute Maid, and Florida's Natural don't even come up on the list.

From what I've read about the companies who have decided to put the "Gluten Free" guarantee on their label, at least the national brands, they are reliable enough to trust that they mean it when they mark it. I would still be wary of all foods that DON'T guarantee gluten-free, because you just don't know what might have mixed with it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good for you. You just made my point by providing a picture of how FROZEN OJ is made. The issue I brought up was with supposed "fresh" orange. You see, that cute little tank where they do the blending is where they add all the extra stuff in. Frozen OJ bypasses that whole stage.

From http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/Browse/file/plate%20fall07.pdf

Even on the Meijer website, it stated that natural flavors may contain gluten or allergens.

On the "Is That Gluten Free?" app (which I know is not 100% but pretty darn good) I see that Kroger and Meijer both list their OJ as gluten free, but Tropicana, Minute Maid, and Florida's Natural don't even come up on the list.

From what I've read about the companies who have decided to put the "Gluten Free" guarantee on their label, at least the national brands, they are reliable enough to trust that they mean it when they mark it. I would still be wary of all foods that DON'T guarantee gluten-free, because you just don't know what might have mixed with it.

Honey, there is NO guarantee. BUT we have come to trust SOME companies who will clearly disclose all sources of gluten....Kraft, Unilevel, Hormel

Just because a product is not listed does not mean it contains gluten. Learn to read labeled and don't rely on lists. Learn to walk on your own.....imagine your freedom!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,344
    • Total Posts
      920,486
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats of gastro in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from which looking back may have been related. Then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! I'm also still recovering from last Friday and wondering when I'm going to feel better. I've stayed off gluten and dairy since my blood result a couple of days ago but feel like I'm allergic to food in general.  Thankyou!!    
    • Here's what the Klondike Bar makers say on the FAQ page of their website (August 2016): Are your products gluten free? Nope. They are not. We have not validated for gluten free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
    • I tried the iodine test but couldn't leave it on very long because it itched too much. I left it on maybe 30 minutes lol. Did anyone try it and have the same response??
    • Had my scope today. Dr said my esophagus is damaged and stomach inflamed. Waiting on biopsy results. Taking protonic and flagyl and he said to go ahead and try cutting gluten out to see if that helps. Thanks for the feedback everyone! 
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,415
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Ails123
    Joined