Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten Free Alcohol
0

16 posts in this topic

Hi, so I'm 21 now and I would like to be able to go with friends to bars without worrying so much about getting glutened. Can anybody recommend alcohol brands that are safe? Have any favorites?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

where do you live? Brands will vary by country.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

where do you live? Brands will vary by country.

I'm in the United States. NYC

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Anheuser Busch makes a gluten-free beer called Redbridge, I had it for the first time this past weekend. It was good, but not great like the full-bodied hoppy IPA's I used to enjoy before I became aware of this cursed gluten sensitivity.

I also found the Estrella Damm Daura good but a little pricey.

I have read that Estrella has trace amounts of gluten (albeit well below 20 ppm). Not sure about the Redbridge but I would have to assume it contains a trace. If you are super-sensitive you may want to stick with a truly gluten-free liquor or wine from the link previously posted....

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Anheuser Busch makes a gluten-free beer called Redbridge, I had it for the first time this past weekend. It was good, but not great like the full-bodied hoppy IPA's I used to enjoy before I became aware of this cursed gluten sensitivity.

I also found the Estrella Damm Daura good but a little pricey.

I have read that Estrella has trace amounts of gluten (albeit well below 20 ppm). Not sure about the Redbridge but I would have to assume it contains a trace. If you are super-sensitive you may want to stick with a truly gluten-free liquor or wine from the link previously posted....

Redbridge is truly gluten free it is made from sorghum and has no barley at all. The Estrella is made with barley but it is 'processed out' and personally I wouldn't touch it any more than I would drink a regular Budweiser.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know Dekyuper is safe...like the sour apple pucker and stuff...any vodkas..if you like red bull and vodka ..red bull is safe. I drink Jolly Ranchers (which is cranberry juice, peach schnapps, and sour apple pucker) mostly whenever I drink.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I know Dekyuper is safe...like the sour apple pucker and stuff...any vodkas..if you like red bull and vodka ..red bull is safe. I drink Jolly Ranchers (which is cranberry juice, peach schnapps, and sour apple pucker) mostly whenever I drink.

Not all of us tolerate distilled gluten. Best to stick with potato vodkas when you are new to the diet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

First off, it may be hard finding gluten free beer in a bar. Stick with moderate distiled drinks. I did try a beer called Off Grid Pale Ale. It is excellent. I love IPA beers. After going gluten free, I missed it. This beer is the replacement for an IPA. Good luck in your searches, remember however to drink in moderation.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ive only been gluten free for a few weeks and i was told all distilled vodka is safe. I keep hearing different information!!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the vast majority of people with celiac disease, any distilled alcohol is safe. A minority of us react to distilled alcohol from grain sources, although the reason is not clearly understood. The gluten molecule is huge, and science says that it cannot pass into the distillate, but there seem to be some fragments that do and they can cause problems for a few of us.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

For the vast majority of people with celiac disease, any distilled alcohol is safe. A minority of us react to distilled alcohol from grain sources, although the reason is not clearly understood. The gluten molecule is huge, and science says that it cannot pass into the distillate, but there seem to be some fragments that do and they can cause problems for a few of us.

Yep. Should have made that clear in my response. If your drinking distilled with no issues then there is no reason not to. IMHO it is something to avoid while still healing though so that there is no confusion about 'what have I eaten or drank that got me or do I have another intolerance' if someone is one of the rather rare celiacs who do react.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I love Woodchuck hard cider, almost all bars have hard cider of some kind. Crispin Hard Cider is also excellent, and looks just like beer in a mug.

Also Redbridge and Malibu and Diet Pepsi are fantastic!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll start by saying that I am new to being gluten-free so I don't know yet how sensitive I am compared to average. But re the above posts on vodka: I cannot tolerate vodka no matter how many times they distill it. For the past 5 years I thought I just couldn't tolerate alcohol anymore(note, I was always a vodka girl for other dietary reasons I won't bore you with) and avoided it like the plague; I'd get 3 day hangovers and it just wasn't worth it. I went gluten-free 3 months ago and then read some interesting articles that put me on to the potato vodka vs regular/grain vodka. I know they say that distilling supposedly makes it okay but I say no way. A couple of weeks I dared to try the potato vodka, and I was worried about the effect it would have the next day (I have a two year old to chase around and couldn't afford to be ill) - but it was amazing, I had no ill effects whatsoever.

So. This post assumes you are a vodka drinker - if so I recommend limiting yourself to the potato until you are gluten free a while and can do a challenge with regular vodka. Don't assume that distilled alcohol will do the trick, it sure doesn't with me. :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'll start by saying that I am new to being gluten-free so I don't know yet how sensitive I am compared to average. But re the above posts on vodka: I cannot tolerate vodka no matter how many times they distill it. For the past 5 years I thought I just couldn't tolerate alcohol anymore(note, I was always a vodka girl for other dietary reasons I won't bore you with) and avoided it like the plague; I'd get 3 day hangovers and it just wasn't worth it. I went gluten-free 3 months ago and then read some interesting articles that put me on to the potato vodka vs regular/grain vodka. I know they say that distilling supposedly makes it okay but I say no way. A couple of weeks I dared to try the potato vodka, and I was worried about the effect it would have the next day (I have a two year old to chase around and couldn't afford to be ill) - but it was amazing, I had no ill effects whatsoever.

So. This post assumes you are a vodka drinker - if so I recommend limiting yourself to the potato until you are gluten free a while and can do a challenge with regular vodka. Don't assume that distilled alcohol will do the trick, it sure doesn't with me. :blink:

That is my experience also and the reason why I tell folks to avoid distilled grains until well healed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0