12 replies to this topic

#1 spryng

spryng

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 38 posts

Posted 29 December 2011 - 01:19 PM

Hello all! I'm very new to celiac disease and the gluten free lifestyle. I just started eating gluten free 4 days ago and I'm finding it exciting and challenging all at the same time. Exciting because I just know its going to help me feel so much better and if I can feel better without pills then I'm all for it. At this point if my doctor would have said eat cardboard for the rest of your life I would have been jumping up and down with joy just knowing I didn't have to have surgery or pills with side effects. So having to go gluten free is not a burden at all but I am seeing things like everyday cooking to be a challenge.. like today I wanted to make salsa chicken for dinner, I looked at the back of the salsa jar and lo and behold! says it may contain wheat! So I nixed the salsa and was just gonna cook up the chicken with seasonings.. pull down the cumin and look at the back (may contain wheat) pull down the garlic salt (may contain wheat) chicken seasoning (contains wheat crumbs) seriously?! I thought seasonings were suppose to be the easy part, LOL Obviously not my brand, so I'm gonna have to find more 100% gluten items asap or just learn to love salt and pepper only, LOL But in the end I ended up just using salt and pepper on my chicken, shredded it and added shredded cheese in a corn tortilla and it was a tasty meal for sure. I did hit the library and pick up about 6 books on the gluten free lifestyle and I've been devouring them daily, lots of recipes and tips for eating out. I'm still learning all how to read a label but I know I'll get more savvy in time.