Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Nature Valley Protein Bars
0

7 posts in this topic

I am only one week into gluten-free diet and have a question. I picked these up at Sam's today (Peanut Butter Dark chocolate) and they are not labeled Gluten free like some Nature Valley bars, but don't see any unsafe ingredients...am I missing something? They are so new, General Mills does not have them listed on their site (that I could find)

Roasted Peanuts

Soy Protein Isolate

Chicory Root Extract

Sugar

Vegetable oils (palm kernel, palm, canola, peanut)

Whey Protein Concentrate

High Maltose Corn syrup

Cocoa

Fructose

Peanut Butter (peanuts salt)

Vegetable Glycerin

Rice Starch

HOney

Rice Maltodextrin

Salt

Soy Lecithin

Natural Flavor

Contains: Peanut, soy and milk ingredients

190 calories

12g fat

14 g

5g fiber

10g protein

Thanks,

Karen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

General Mills will clearly disclose by name any gluten by naming the grain in the ingredients list. They did not, so there is no gluten.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

General Mills will clearly disclose by name any gluten by naming the grain in the ingredients list. They did not, so there is no gluten.

I asked specifically whether these were gluten free on the Nature Valley facebook page and a representative told me they are not. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I asked specifically whether these were gluten free on the Nature Valley facebook page and a representative told me they are not. :(

We come down, then, to the definition of "gluten-free."

In the US, there is no legal definition. Many companies produce products which are, in fact, gluten-free, but will not label them as gluten-free because they do not test them for gluten content, and even if they did, there is no definition of "gluten-free" that is legally enforceable.

I stand by my statement that General Mills (among others) will clearly disclose any gluten source intentionally included in the product. They do not test, and will not take a position that would make them legally liable for a mistake by one of their suppliers.

"Not gluten-free" does not necessarily mean "contains gluten."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter's doctor told me that if it doesn't specifically say "gluten free" then I should err on the safe side and not buy it for her. Just because it doesn't specifically contain any gluten-y ingredients, it may share a facility with products that do.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




My daughter's doctor told me that if it doesn't specifically say "gluten free" then I should err on the safe side and not buy it for her. Just because it doesn't specifically contain any gluten-y ingredients, it may share a facility with products that do.

If you're on the U. S. that may not necessarily be true. There are gluten-free labeled products out there that are made on shared lines/facilities.

I think Amy's is one them.

Note gluten-free labeling:

http://www.amys.com/products/product-detail/gluten-free/000130

Note allergy statement about cc:

http://www.amys.com/health/faq#faq_679

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

General Mills will clearly disclose by name any gluten by naming the grain in the ingredients list. They did not, so there is no gluten.

according to this, they will disclose if they put it in the ingredient directly but, if it is processed in a facility with gluten, the front will simply not say 'gluten-free'. if you are worried about cross-contamination, only buy the boxes that specifically say gluten-free on the front.

http://www.gfreegirlfriend.com/2012/02/nature-valley-bars.html

"Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Nature Valley granola bars.

General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package.

Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated. A current list of products on the market that are gluten free can be found by visiting www.glutenfreely.com. It is important to check the package label before purchasing for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package to verify that the package you choose is gluten free.

For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.

If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or one of these organizations."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,120
    • Total Posts
      919,471
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I thought I would update you all.  I started to eat gluten shortly after this post.  I was miserable by the time I had my EGD.  The doctor gave a diagnosis after the EGD was completed, duodenitis, gastritis and hiatal hernia.  I had abnormal mucosa of the whole stomach and severe inflammation.  The biopsy results came back today, they stated early stages celiac disease.  I wonder what it would've shown if I wasn't on a gluten free diet for two years?  My doctor said he still wants me to come in for a talk, he doesn't really know if he should call it celiac disease since it's early stages....  WTH!  I've really got to find a doctor that specializes in Celiac Disease...    
    • thank you for the info, its very helpful to hear from someone else who has it and knows a lot about it. When you say I may be eliminating one problem vs 3, what would you think the other problems could be? It's frustrating because I even buy Uldis gluten-free bagels and what not and I still find myself reacting sometimes to that, I don't use butter but just gluten-free peanut butter, but like I said I don't know for sure if its from that or maybe something else. I have read on this site about a couple others that have had issues with uldis breads so could be that. but like you said I guess it can also just take awhile to get better. I read the other day that a lot of throwing up can put stress on your small intestine which can maybe cause your body to react to dairy, do you know anything about that or if that's true?
    • Thanks for the reply!  Yeah, I really should have gotten testing done before the elimination diet.  I had asked my previous doctor, but she didn't want to do it.  I was transitioning to a new insurance and couldn't get a doctor's appointment for awhile, so I thought I would just do the elimination diet.  After all, it might not have been gluten.  (<--that was my thought process...) Hindsight is 20/20.  I felt pretty good during those 3 weeks gluten free, and was not expecting how bad it would be when I added it back in.  Anyway, I found a new doctor and I think she would totally be willing to test me again 9 weeks out. I think she would also be willing to order the endoscopy if I brought her research and really pushed for it. Now that I know how good feeling good feels... I just can't see staying on gluten for another 9 weeks.  I honestly don't know how I would survive.  Even if it's not Celiac, and it's ONLY the wheat allergy... it's making my life absolutely miserable. Thanks again for the reply!  I think I'll go in Friday for the blood test and take it from there.
    • Hi Alok, I suggest not eating any soy.  Soy is one of the top 8 food allergens in the USA.  Soy has other things about it that are not helpful to us.  Plus it is often sprayed with pesticides that are not so great for people.  Maybe you can try some other food for a while?  Also it might help to wash all your vegetables before using them. Just some ideas, I hope they help.
    • What she said!     The antibody panel is an important part of follow-up!
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,159
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Anns
    Joined