Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Nature Valley Protein Bars
0

7 posts in this topic

I am only one week into gluten-free diet and have a question. I picked these up at Sam's today (Peanut Butter Dark chocolate) and they are not labeled Gluten free like some Nature Valley bars, but don't see any unsafe ingredients...am I missing something? They are so new, General Mills does not have them listed on their site (that I could find)

Roasted Peanuts

Soy Protein Isolate

Chicory Root Extract

Sugar

Vegetable oils (palm kernel, palm, canola, peanut)

Whey Protein Concentrate

High Maltose Corn syrup

Cocoa

Fructose

Peanut Butter (peanuts salt)

Vegetable Glycerin

Rice Starch

HOney

Rice Maltodextrin

Salt

Soy Lecithin

Natural Flavor

Contains: Peanut, soy and milk ingredients

190 calories

12g fat

14 g

5g fiber

10g protein

Thanks,

Karen

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

General Mills will clearly disclose by name any gluten by naming the grain in the ingredients list. They did not, so there is no gluten.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

General Mills will clearly disclose by name any gluten by naming the grain in the ingredients list. They did not, so there is no gluten.

I asked specifically whether these were gluten free on the Nature Valley facebook page and a representative told me they are not. :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I asked specifically whether these were gluten free on the Nature Valley facebook page and a representative told me they are not. :(

We come down, then, to the definition of "gluten-free."

In the US, there is no legal definition. Many companies produce products which are, in fact, gluten-free, but will not label them as gluten-free because they do not test them for gluten content, and even if they did, there is no definition of "gluten-free" that is legally enforceable.

I stand by my statement that General Mills (among others) will clearly disclose any gluten source intentionally included in the product. They do not test, and will not take a position that would make them legally liable for a mistake by one of their suppliers.

"Not gluten-free" does not necessarily mean "contains gluten."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My daughter's doctor told me that if it doesn't specifically say "gluten free" then I should err on the safe side and not buy it for her. Just because it doesn't specifically contain any gluten-y ingredients, it may share a facility with products that do.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




My daughter's doctor told me that if it doesn't specifically say "gluten free" then I should err on the safe side and not buy it for her. Just because it doesn't specifically contain any gluten-y ingredients, it may share a facility with products that do.

If you're on the U. S. that may not necessarily be true. There are gluten-free labeled products out there that are made on shared lines/facilities.

I think Amy's is one them.

Note gluten-free labeling:

http://www.amys.com/products/product-detail/gluten-free/000130

Note allergy statement about cc:

http://www.amys.com/health/faq#faq_679

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

General Mills will clearly disclose by name any gluten by naming the grain in the ingredients list. They did not, so there is no gluten.

according to this, they will disclose if they put it in the ingredient directly but, if it is processed in a facility with gluten, the front will simply not say 'gluten-free'. if you are worried about cross-contamination, only buy the boxes that specifically say gluten-free on the front.

http://www.gfreegirlfriend.com/2012/02/nature-valley-bars.html

"Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Nature Valley granola bars.

General Mills offers several products that are labeled gluten-free. Please check the package label for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package. Only products that can be verified to be gluten free will be declared as gluten free on the label. It is important to check the product label each time you purchase a product because it has the most accurate information about the product in the package.

Because we constantly strive to improve our products′ quality and nutritional value, the most up-to-date product information is on the package the product is purchased in. For that reason, we do not distribute product information lists as they could quickly become outdated. A current list of products on the market that are gluten free can be found by visiting www.glutenfreely.com. It is important to check the package label before purchasing for the gluten-free statement on the front/side/back of the package to verify that the package you choose is gluten free.

For products not labeled gluten free, we will always declare gluten containing ingredients if they are added to the product. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten. Examples of derivative ingredients include: malt, barley malt, organic malt, semolina, Durham, triticale, and spelt. We do not include gluten containing ingredients in the ′Natural Flavors′ or ′Spices′ on the product ingredient list. If there are gluten ingredients in our products, those ingredients are always clearly listed.

If there are no gluten- containing ingredients listed in the product ingredient label, but the product does not make a gluten free claim, it is because we cannot fully assure that this product is gluten free. While we have not added gluten-containing ingredients, factors such as sourcing, conditions of manufacture, etc. do not allow us to provide the full level of assurance that a gluten free claim requires.

Additional information regarding gluten may be obtained by contacting your health care professional or one of these organizations."

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,345
    • Total Posts
      920,489
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I am sorry that you are sick!   Unfortunately, all celiac testing requires you to be on gluten.  😔.   Testing is usually not over until you get an actual diagnosis, but it appears that you may very well have celiac disease.    Here is more information: http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ http://theceliacmd.com/2015/06/six-reasons-to-test-for-celiac-disease-before-starting-a-gluten-free-diet-3/ in the meantime, you can eliminate dairy products temporarily.  It may provide some relief.  
    • Karen, the iodine test was a test for DH used in the 'olden' days. Iodine would be swabbed onto a spot and then it would be covered with a bandage. If someone had DH the iodined area would break out in lesions. I don't know how but we do know iodine can activate the antibodies. That is why some of us with DH have to avoid iodine in foods until the antibodies have cleared the dermis. OP, if you haven't been tested for celiac you should be and if you have active lesions a biopsy done next to a lesion by a DH knowledgable dermatologist may help in diagnosis.
    • The gluten-free diet (GFD) is the only validated treatment for celiac disease (celiac disease), but despite strict adherence, complete mucosal recovery is rarely ... View the full article
    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats of gastro in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from which looking back may have been related. Then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! I'm also still recovering from last Friday and wondering when I'm going to feel better. I've stayed off gluten and dairy since my blood result a couple of days ago but feel like I'm allergic to food in general.  Thankyou!!    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,415
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Ails123
    Joined