11 replies to this topic

#1 1974girl

1974girl

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 318 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 09:52 AM

Ok, I know this is the dumbest question but I am only on day 2 of gluten free for my kids. I have all this frozen bread (Udis). I have never used frozen bread before. Can I thaw it out quick in the microwave or do I have to literally lay it out for a while? I don't need the whole loaf only a piece or two at a time. I keep reading to keep the bread in the refridgerator or freezer so I am not sure how to do this.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 missmellie

missmellie

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 62 posts

Posted 10 January 2012 - 10:04 AM

Ok, I know this is the dumbest question but I am only on day 2 of gluten free for my kids. I have all this frozen bread (Udis). I have never used frozen bread before. Can I thaw it out quick in the microwave or do I have to literally lay it out for a while? I don't need the whole loaf only a piece or two at a time. I keep reading to keep the bread in the refridgerator or freezer so I am not sure how to do this.

If you have frozen, already cooked, sliced bread, just remove the slices you need and thaw it on the counter, or in the gluten-free toaster, or microwave. If you're making a sandwich that won't be eaten for a while, don't bother to thaw it. It can thaw in the lunch box, or wherever. You might run into trouble separating the slices while they are frozen. Sometimes you need to break off a bigger "hunk" that what you actually need at the moment.

We all have to start learning someplace. :)

Miss Mellie

Aug. 2010 IgA+ Gliadin; IgA+ Casein; IgA+ Egg; IgA+ Soy.
Sept. 2010 IgG+ for cow's milk, peach, yeast, chili pepper, egg white & yolk, lentil, soy, cola nut, coriander/cumin/dill, nutmeg/peppercorn, sesame seed, turkey, and wheat

Hypothyroidism, arthritis, GERD, overweight, chronic sleeping issues

#3 Darn210

Darn210

Cookies!!