4 replies to this topic

#1 allergyprone

allergyprone

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 83 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 11:47 AM

I am a freshman in college, I went through disabilities and was put into an apartment(on campus) so I could cook for myself. All of last semester I didn't have a roommate, because the university was in charge of finding me one. This semeseter I still don't have a roommate, but I met a foreign exchange student who really wants to be my roommate. She doesn't have celiacs, but I have told her about it and she still wants to be my roommate. I don't know if disabilities would allow it because of how the accomidations were set up. What I really wanted to know is just some experiences with having celiacs and a nonceliac roommate. Like how you made it work, if it worked. Problems that were incountered. also I've never had a roommate (outside of my sister) before so I don't know how that would work either. Thanks, I told her I would think about it and get back to her sometime next week.
AP

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 taylor!!

taylor!!

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts

Posted 27 January 2012 - 05:06 PM

Hey there! I have lived with roommates for the past 5 years and have never had any problems with cross contamination or anything like that. I explained the situation to them and just always had a mutual understanding with all of them that we would clearly label what food is ours and clean dishes thoroughly. I had a seperate toaster that i used and we were all good about keeping the stove and oven clean. The only issues I ever had was if they decided to bake. The flour in the air bothered me, so if they were ever baking cookies or anything and I wasn't home they would just shoot me a text and let me know so I didn't walk into a kitchen covered in flour.