Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Tazo Tea
1 1

9 posts in this topic

Someone in my local support group posted about this.

I apologize if it has already been posted here recently. I did a search and didn't find anything.

Generally we think of tea as gluten free. On the Tazo tea website, in the FAQ's it states:

http://www.tazo.com/flash/about.swf

"All of our teas are gluten-free except for the following: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger and Tea Lemonade."

I didn't see anything in the ingredients which would indicate gluten, so I thought I should post about it.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Someone in my local support group posted about this.

I apologize if it has already been posted here recently. I did a search and didn't find anything.

Generally we think of tea as gluten free. On the Tazo tea website, in the FAQ's it states:

http://www.tazo.com/flash/about.swf

"All of our teas are gluten-free except for the following: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger and Tea Lemonade."

I didn't see anything in the ingredients which would indicate gluten, so I thought I should post about it.

Those are flavored tea's so that is why they may not be gluten free. Their regular black and green tea are gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What the...I've been drinking Starbucks' green tea lemonades for years and never noticed any type of reaction. This is heartbreaking for me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

What the...I've been drinking Starbucks' green tea lemonades for years and never noticed any type of reaction. This is heartbreaking for me.

Modiddly....don't panic yet! I also like the green tea/lemonade drinks at Bucky's and I have never had any type of reaction to them at all, which would not happen if they contained gluten. I am just too sensitive a Celiac.

The above info is confusing because Tazo makes a bottled green tea lemonade drink which is the one that is not gluten-free. The drink made in their stores I have watched them do many times and it is plain tea (green or black) mixed with lemonade. They do not use the bottled mix. I called Starbucks a couple of times on this and got them to read the ingredients list to me on the lemonade. It has just a few ingredients....water, sugar, and lemon oil.

That looks safe to me and as I drink the Grande size in the summer, there is no way I would not get deathly ill. Between calling them and getting the ingredients list and not reacting the least bit, I think you can safely have one without fear. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

oh thank heavens! I seriously have like 4 a week some weeks if I'm travelling and I feel like I would've definitely noticed. Thank you :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




I'm so sorry that my link didn't work so that you could have seen that for yourself.

Here's the correct one: http://www.tazo.com/flash/about.swf

For some reason when it is posted it puts those things in there. Take them out and it will go to the website.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Trust your reactions.

I've posted about this before when they mistakenly gave me the wrong flavor tea, and I was pretty indignant over it. But I've reacted enough to a few of their other mixed warm drinks that I have concluded it is better for me to avoid this company in my retail area of my state, because we could not resolve what was giving me a migraine after going over all the ingredients. I did drink a plain decaf coffee at a ski area about 2 years ago, because I was really cold, and was okay, but this was after grilling the barristas over what they were doing with it, and I wasn't driving - otherwise, I need to not risk this.

I'm happy that Tazo brand is disclosing, but seriously wonder why they can't get rid of the gluten in the tea. :huh:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Trust your reactions.

I've posted about this before when they mistakenly gave me the wrong flavor tea, and I was pretty indignant over it. But I've reacted enough to a few of their other mixed warm drinks that I have concluded it is better for me to avoid this company in my retail area of my state, because we could not resolve what was giving me a migraine after going over all the ingredients. I did drink a plain decaf coffee at a ski area about 2 years ago, because I was really cold, and was okay, but this was after grilling the barristas over what they were doing with it, and I wasn't driving - otherwise, I need to not risk this.

I'm happy that Tazo brand is disclosing, but seriously wonder why they can't get rid of the gluten in the tea. :huh:

Starbucks success with allergies depends heavily on their employee's. I usually go to the same stores and they have been great. I only drink one of 2 drinks there so have never had a problem in 7 years. I think the only tea's that are of concern with Tazo are the herbal and flavored ones. I don't like either so sticking with plain black and green tea works for me.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 2/14/2012 at 5:40 AM, dilettantesteph said:

Someone in my local support group posted about this.

I apologize if it has already been posted here recently. I did a search and didn't find anything.

 

Generally we think of tea as gluten free. On the Tazo tea website, in the FAQ's it states:

http://www.tazo.com/flash/about.swf

"All of our teas are gluten-free except for the following: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger and Tea Lemonade."

 

I didn't see anything in the ingredients which would indicate gluten, so I thought I should post about it.

I want to thank you so much for this post. I had a couple of old tea bags given to me a few years back. I had the honeybush in my mug waiting for water when I realized, "I should check that." No ingredients on the packet, couldn't find ingredients on Tazo'so site (it's a discontinued product). So I googled "is tazo honeybush tea gluten free" and found this post. You saved mentioned from a miserable night and Mother's Day. Thanks again! 

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
1 1

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,345
    • Total Posts
      920,489
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • I am sorry that you are sick!   Unfortunately, all celiac testing requires you to be on gluten.  😔.   Testing is usually not over until you get an actual diagnosis, but it appears that you may very well have celiac disease.    Here is more information: http://www.cureceliacdisease.org/screening/ http://theceliacmd.com/2015/06/six-reasons-to-test-for-celiac-disease-before-starting-a-gluten-free-diet-3/ in the meantime, you can eliminate dairy products temporarily.  It may provide some relief.  
    • Karen, the iodine test was a test for DH used in the 'olden' days. Iodine would be swabbed onto a spot and then it would be covered with a bandage. If someone had DH the iodined area would break out in lesions. I don't know how but we do know iodine can activate the antibodies. That is why some of us with DH have to avoid iodine in foods until the antibodies have cleared the dermis. OP, if you haven't been tested for celiac you should be and if you have active lesions a biopsy done next to a lesion by a DH knowledgable dermatologist may help in diagnosis.
    • The gluten-free diet (GFD) is the only validated treatment for celiac disease (celiac disease), but despite strict adherence, complete mucosal recovery is rarely ... View the full article
    • What's an " iodine test"?  Haven't heard doctors doing that to diagnose DH.
    • Hello! I've just been given my blood results and told they are highly suggestive of coeliacs but will have to wait till next month to see the gastroenterologist and who knows how much longer for a biopsy. My igA, igG and tissuetrans igA were all over 250 and tissuetrans igG was the only one that was normal. These results don't mean much to me yet but I'm told they are very high. I'm now quite fearful of how much damage I've gone to myself. I've had stomach problems for 25 years (just turned 40) and have often steered clear of too much bread and pasta for how bloated it made me feel but the symptoms were always vague and inconsistent so I kept eating. I had a couple of boats of gastro in the past few months (thanks kids) which I took a lot longer than normal to recover from which looking back may have been related. Then last Friday I had a blowout with wine, cheese, crackers, pizza and chocolate cake. I'm sure I've probably had blowouts like that before but I have never felt so sick before and am still slowly recovering. This is what finally prompted me to go back to my GP after being fobbed off so many times over the years. So I guess my question and my concern is whether there is still  chance of a false positive with levels like this? I worry what else it might be if not coeliac. I'm also worried that I may have done so much damage to myself that I will have several disorders going on! I'm also still recovering from last Friday and wondering when I'm going to feel better. I've stayed off gluten and dairy since my blood result a couple of days ago but feel like I'm allergic to food in general.  Thankyou!!    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,415
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Ails123
    Joined