Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            

   arrowShare this page:

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    

- - - - -

What Wines Are Gluten Free

  • Please log in to reply

4 replies to this topic

#1 Angie1


    New Community Member

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 February 2012 - 01:51 PM

Hello, I just found out I have this disease do any of you know of white wines that is gluten free and doesn't have brewers yeast in them. And it doesn't have gluten in them.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 psawyer



  • Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,069 posts

Posted 19 February 2012 - 01:55 PM

I can't speak to the yeast question, but in nearly twelve years on the diet I have never found a wine that was not gluten-free.
  • 0
Diagnosis by biopsy of practically non-existent villi; gluten-free since July 2000.
Type 1 (autoimmune) diabetes diagnosed in March 1986
Markham, Ontario (borders on Toronto)

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 Lisa


    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,802 posts

Posted 19 February 2012 - 02:13 PM

I agree with Peter, but watch out for some wine coolers. ;)

And welcome...you've found a great place for information.
  • 0

Gluten Free - August 15, 2004

"Not all who wander are lost" - JRR Tolkien

#4 kareng


    HO! HO! HO!

  • Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,312 posts

Posted 19 February 2012 - 03:03 PM

Wines are gluten-free but I think they need some type of yeast to ferment and become wine. I don't know if there is any detectable yeast left after it becomes wine. You might want to google that & see if there is a winemakers site that would explain that.


Here's a bit of the article.

The good news is that most wines that you can buy off the supermarket shelf don’t contain a lot of yeast cells; if they did, the wines would look cloudy and might even re-ferment in the bottle. Large commercial-scale wineries work hard to ensure that their wines get to market with little or no yeast cells; zero viable cells per bottle is the goal. Commercial white wines, especially those styles that don’t go through a malolactic fermentation (where helpful bacteria eat natural malic acid in grapes and turn it into lactic acid), will almost always be sterile filtered. This is because residual malic acid is a tempting treat for any ambient bacteria that would be abundant in unfiltered wine.

  • 0



Once again, we come to the Holiday Season, a deeply religious time that each of us observes, in his own way, by going to the mall of his choice. - Dave Barry
“The main reason Santa is so jolly is because he knows where all the bad girls live.”  - George Carlin
“One can never have enough socks," said Dumbledore. "Another Christmas has come and gone and I didn't get a single pair. People will insist on giving me books.”  - J.K. Rowling, Harry Potter and The Sorcerer's Stone


#5 Melissa Palomo

Melissa Palomo

    Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 59 posts

Posted 19 February 2012 - 08:13 PM

I drink quite a bit of wine - no wheat in the ones I enjoy. ;) None of the many wines I've enjoyed have been an issue. :)
  • 0

I'm Melissa. I am 28, diagnosed in August 2008. I'm a photographer and a blogger, too. :)

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: