6 replies to this topic

#1 lyndszai

lyndszai

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 20 March 2004 - 08:04 PM

hey im new to the gluten-free diet ive only been on it for 4 days and im finding it hard to find gluten-free free things ,im also lactose .My b day is on monday and my mom and dad want to get me a cake is there such thing as a gluten-free cake?

thanks

lol sry i cant fix the heading i made a typo

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 gf4life

gf4life

Our family "photo" as drawn by my daughter Hannah

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,634 posts

Posted 20 March 2004 - 08:42 PM

Yes there are gluten-free cakes. The best I've tried is The Really Great Food Company Chocolate Cake Mix. This is also dairy free.

But as your b-day is monday, you should probably try to make one from scratch, as you don't have time to make an online order. Do you have gluten-free flour? Rice flour and potato starch is a typical blend for gluten-free cakes. They also tend to use more eggs and cook at a lower temp than gluten cakes. I have ruined cakes by baking them at the recommended 350 degrees. I have found that 325 works much better and I add an extra 10 minutes or so to the baking time. Otherwise they are gummy in the center. Yuck!

Here is a link to the Yellow Cake topic in the baking & recipes forum.

http://www.glutenfre...p?showtopic=226

Here is a link to some chocolate cake recipes in the same forum.

http://www.glutenfre...p?showtopic=225

Here is a link to some other cakes in the same forum.

http://www.glutenfre...hp?showtopic=10

I hope these help. And that you not only have a great birthday, but a wonderful lifetime of health being gluten free! :D

God bless,
Mariann
~West Coast-Central California~

Mariann, gluten intolerant and mother of 3 gluten intolerant children

#3 lyndszai

lyndszai

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 58 posts

Posted 21 March 2004 - 06:47 AM