#1 Cate K

Cate K

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 27 February 2012 - 03:02 PM

Hello All,

I am quite new to the world of Celiac Disease. I am currently in the process of having my blood tested and I have to wait until March 16th to get the results. (I am currently living in Vietnam and they had to send the tests away). That means almost 3 more weeks to wait. What I am experiencing now is frightening the daylights out of me. I am not sure if I should keep waiting for the blood results or go to the doctor for a CT scan of my brain. I am hoping that someone who has Celiac can tell me if this is normal. I should add that I just started this morning on a gluten free diet.

What is happening is that my brain feels like it is floating above my body. Sometimes I get dizzy and sometimes, when I am looking at something, the picture of what I see sort of "flashes" to the next scene. I am also forgetting the simplest of things (what I had for dinner 2 nights ago, that I left the water running in the sink for the dishes, important things I am supposed to do etc.) This is very unlike me to forget anything. In my head I am, of course, thinking brain tumour.

If anyone else has experienced this I would love to hear from you. Is this something that could be typical of Celiac. I have read about "Brain Fog".

Thanks for your input. I look forward to hearing from you.

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

Gobble! Gobble!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,245 posts

Posted 27 February 2012 - 03:04 PM

There you are, Cate! Welcome to the forum!

Se if you can get check for vitamin deficiencies. Or if that's difficult, just assume you have them and try and supplement. Celiac makes it hard to take in the nutrients you need. Anemia, low B12, iron, etc can make you dizzy & foggy.

Thanksgiving dinners take 18 hours to prepare.  They are consumed in 12 minutes.  Half-times take 12 minutes.  This is not a coincidence.  - Emma Bombeck