I missed this reply you made and wanted to clarify the problem with Lindt chocolates. The gluten in Lindt is from barley and in the States, barley is not one of the 8 major allergens that require label warnings...that's where the ingredients listings come into play. This is the learning curve we are talking about and it can seem confusing and daunting at first. Barley is used commonly as a sweetener in candies so you do have to be careful of that.
I had to give up Lindt chocolates and now eat Ghirardelli.
I have heard that Sweden is excellent at labeling but it looks like maybe the barley may not be required along the same lines as here in the States?
It cannot be marked gluten-free if it contains barley but if you are looking at something which is not officially labeled as gluten-free, then you have to scrutinize the label or call the company. I know...it's a real pain at times, especially when I see those barley pops I used to love as a kid. I miss barley but don't miss the wheat!
Sadly the hard way is the only way to learn in these situations :-(
It's not a very excellent system here. I got a reply from the responsible department about this issue and traces of gluten are sadly considered gluten free as long as it doesn't go over 20ppm.. so for a food that is guaranteed to contain as much as or less than 20ppm, the company is not obliged to label the product as gluten-free. I don't like that but the advice I got from everyone on these forums was invaluable and that I like :-) It has helped me immensely! I owe all of you :-)