This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Acne From Gluten?

CeliacFashionista

CeliacFashionista Apprentice

I was wondering if anyone else got cystic acne when coming in contact with gluten? I've been gluten free for about 3 months now but if I accidently come in contact with gluten I break out in huge cystic bumps that scar for months! I am a college student and I and really into fashion so this is a BIG deal to me. I spend almost everyday in the house because I'm scared to show my face....none of the acne medication I try helps the bumps go away, not even cprtisone shots!! I know that its a result of inflammation in my body but what can I do to fix it?? Please help....this is ruining my life! :(

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

psawyer Proficient

Perhaps it is not acne, but dermatitis herpetiformis. DH is a manifestation of celiac disease that presents on the skin instead of the small intestine. It is, nonetheless, a form of celiac disease, and triggered by gluten. It is escalated by iodine, which is found in sea foods and ordinary table salt.

We have a forum here about dermatitis herpetiformis.

Perhaps it is not acne, but dermatitis herpetiformis. DH is a manifestation of celiac disease that presents on the skin instead of the small intestine. It is, nonetheless, a form of celiac disease, and triggered by gluten. It is escalated by iodine, which is found in sea foods and ordinary table salt.

We have a forum here about dermatitis herpetiformis.