#1 Pauliewog

Pauliewog

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts

Posted 08 April 2012 - 05:03 PM

Hi,

I am new to gluten-free (2 months). My only experience with alternative flours has been a pizza dough by Namaste Foods and a loaf of Bob's gluten-free bread mix for my machine. After eating the pizza I was quite gassy and bloated. I blamed the cheese even though I only used a tiny amount which usually doesn't bother me. Then yesterday I made the bread and I am again very gassy with some diarrhea--- but no cheese to blame! My bread machine is brand new so I know there is no CC issues there. I am wondering if anyone else has had some sort of reaction to alternative flours. I didn't eat anything else out of the ordinary. Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Skylark

Skylark

Glutenologist

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,490 posts

Posted 08 April 2012 - 06:16 PM

I can't tolerate gluten-free bread. It gives me asthma. I'm not sure what's getting me yet.

Xanthan gum does not agree with a lot of people, or you could be reacting to a new flour or starch like tapioca or sorghum. I would suspect the xanthan gum first since it can give some people diarrhea. You would substitute guar gum, or I recently saw a gluten-free recipe with a couple tablespoons of psyllium husk instead of gum. You might have to do some experimenting to see what flours and gums you can tolerate.

#3 Bubba's Mom

Bubba's Mom

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,457 posts

Posted 09 April 2012 - 06:19 AM

Hi,