This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gas/diarrhea From gluten-free Mixes?

Pauliewog

Pauliewog Contributor

Hi,

I am new to gluten-free (2 months). My only experience with alternative flours has been a pizza dough by Namaste Foods and a loaf of Bob's gluten-free bread mix for my machine. After eating the pizza I was quite gassy and bloated. I blamed the cheese even though I only used a tiny amount which usually doesn't bother me. Then yesterday I made the bread and I am again very gassy with some diarrhea--- but no cheese to blame! My bread machine is brand new so I know there is no CC issues there. I am wondering if anyone else has had some sort of reaction to alternative flours. I didn't eat anything else out of the ordinary. Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

Skylark Collaborator

I can't tolerate gluten-free bread. It gives me asthma. I'm not sure what's getting me yet.

Xanthan gum does not agree with a lot of people, or you could be reacting to a new flour or starch like tapioca or sorghum. I would suspect the xanthan gum first since it can give some people diarrhea. You would substitute guar gum, or I recently saw a gluten-free recipe with a couple tablespoons of psyllium husk instead of gum. You might have to do some experimenting to see what flours and gums you can tolerate.

Bubba's Mom Enthusiast

Hi,