Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Soy Lecithin...?
0

16 posts in this topic

Can we have it?? What is it? We can't have soy right? Sorry for my ignorance but Im still trying to desperately learn! Just ate some MM's and I hope to God I didn't just gluten myself!!! :unsure:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Soy lecithin is derived from soy which Celiacs can have from a gluten perspective. Of course you could be intolerant to soy, but as far as gluten goes it is not a concern.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I don't avoid soy lecithin and as far as I know, I don't have any problem with it. While I am well aware that some people have serious problems with soy, I don't buy products based on soy like tofu or soy flour as I figure I just don't need them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

There are links to safe and unsafe ingredients at http://celiac.com. Here is the safe list, and as you can see soy lecithin is on it. http://www.celiac.com/articles/181/1/Safe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Safe-Ingredients/Page1.html

This is the UNSAFE list so you know what to look out for. To be honest I find it easier to mostly avoid processed foods. Reading long ingredient labels is confusing and if you make a mistake you gluten yourself.

http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
:lol: I was just going to point her to those lists--but I see Skylark has already done it! ;) (great minds and all..... :lol: )
0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




This was written in 2011 on the Livestrong website but raises concerns to me. Does anyone have any more info on this?

Soy, or soya, lecithin is a gluten-free food because it is not made from wheat, rye or barley. While soy lecithin by itself does not contain gluten, additives to lecithin may contain gluten. Consumers must do their own research into ingredients and gluten content, which can sometimes be confusing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm  relatively newly diagnosed Celiac. My understanding of the whole Soy issue is that while Soy itself does not contain gluten, it is often suspect due to the high likelihood of cross contamination. This is due to the fact that most Soy growers also grow Wheat, Barley and Rye in rotation with their Soy crops. This means the soils are contaminated with the gluten containing grains and the equipment used to harvest and process the Soy is shared with the other gluten containing grains. So, the bottom line is, it's pretty much a crap shoot with Soy unless the product containing the Soy is specifically labeled gluten free. This would and should imply that the Soy used in the product is grown independently and isolated from other gluten containing grains.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

no, dude, you are thinking of oats.  i have an independent soy sensitivity and if i have a reaction it lasts maybe 24 hrs.  i know it doesn't contain gluten because i would be knocked down for 2 weeks.  

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Arlene! However, a very short Google search using the string "Soy Wheat Rotation" yielded hundreds of articles about crop rotations including wheat, soy, corn and the list goes on. In fact, One short info article from Ohio State University http://ohioline.osu.edu/iwy/croprota.html recommends planting wheat following soy. It would appear there is nothing truly safe as far as crops go as it seems to be a largely common practice to rotate wheat with just about any other crop. Guess we Celiacs should just stop eating period! :-) Does anyone else out there know if wheat crop rotation is really a concern for those suffering from Celiac disease?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

so, once every 3 years, wheat is planted.  i suppose, the weather and the rest of the year take care of any excess wheat - also whatever likes to eat wheat would take care of what is left - after all, that is what the point to crop rotation is anyway, right?  and corn and soybeans are self contained so the wheat (theoretically, if there even was any to begin with) would be washed off when the kernels or beans were washed.  

 

but, i am not a farmer.  i am a celiac who eats corn and soy and gets no gluten reaction from either :)  i got enough worries, i don't need to borrow any ;)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Among many things, soy is a product that is not good for people avoiding gluten. the protein in soy is so similar to that of gluten that your body reacts the same way with it. Also, soy is not as healthy as people had once thought. It increases the risk for breast cancer and is genetically modified...among many other reasons why we shouldn't eat it. I avoid it all together, but it is very hard because it is in ALOT of foods.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Among many things, soy is a product that is not good for people avoiding gluten. the protein in soy is so similar to that of gluten that your body reacts the same way with it. .

This is not true. There is no scientific evidence of this. Soy does bother some people, Celiacs or not.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I believe it's not the crop rotation that is an issue with wheat/oats.  It's the fact that they are usually grown next to each other at the same time.  And they are often processed in the same facility.

 

I live in a state where large amounts of soybeans are grown.  Where I live, almost no wheat is grown.  Soy may be rotated with corn or cotton here.  Not sure if it's the same in other parts of the country.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

soooo....is the gum I'm chewing - both kinds with soy lecithin on the label - gonna get me?  For whatever reason I decided to read what all was in my gum, looked up the soy l - and of course was brought back to my favorite celiac board :)

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

soooo....is the gum I'm chewing - both kinds with soy lecithin on the label - gonna get me?  For whatever reason I decided to read what all was in my gum, looked up the soy l - and of course was brought back to my favorite celiac board :)

 

 

Maybe if you have a problem with soy.  Wouldn't be a gluten issue.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,681
    • Total Posts
      921,724
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Ok, I can't seem to find my first lot of blood tests that were done for Celiac screening, they did include TTG I remember that much, and I am getting another copy of it but another test did come in today.  I don't know how different tests are done around the world and I don't get all the medical jargon but this is what it states, ******************************************************************************* HLA DR/DQ Genotyping for Coeliac Disease, Specimen type : EDTA blood Method : Detection of sequence-specific oligonucleotides (Gen-Probe). HLA-DR - 1, 13          DRB1 - 01, 13 HLA-DQ - 5,6        HLA-DQA1 - 5,6      HLA-DB1 - 05, 06 Interpretation : No genotype susceptibility for coeliac disease.  The DQ2 and DQ8 antigens associated with increased risk of coeliac disease were not identified in this patient.  In the absence of these antigens, coeliac disease is extremely unlikely.   *******************************************************************************   I have read the horror stories of blood tests and scope biopsies not be done right or flawed but here is what I do know as of now, At the moment the most non invasive test I can have done say negative.  I have double scopes (endoscopy and colonoscopy) booked for the 12th of October with results from biopsies expected a week or two after. Chances are they will show, a) signs of coeliac disease (even if the odds are low it can still happen), b) show signs of something else entirely and we will be busy dealing with the ramifications of that or c) it will show no signs of coeliac but I will still be suffering from gluten sensitivity (which is harder/impossible to measure clinically). My GP has told me that stress and anxiety can be a cause of all the symptoms I have been experiencing and suggests if the scopes show nothing that I may benefit from something to treat anxiety, i.e. antidepressants.  Not in a, "Oh we don't know what it is so have these," kind of way, he agrees with the thought that the scopes could indeed show coeliac, something else or even be negative. I did tell him that I could have a sensitivity and that even without benefit of clinical results, some people have gone on a gluten elimination diet for a period of time to see if they get any relief.  My question is this, if the scopes come up negative and I try eliminating gluten, how long would it be before I saw any results or improvements?  I have read enough here and elsewhere to know that everybody is different, some see results within days, some see results longer but are there any guidelines for how long a test like this should be undertaken for?  I have heard everything thing from two weeks to two months.  All of this is entirely moot at this point but I know that even if the results said clear, there would always be a little part of me that wonders if it could be a sensitivity that is the problem.  Any thoughts or advice greatly appreciated, and a thank you to all those who have taken the time to respond and offer advice and encouragement so far.        
    • We don't delete accounts but can delete any personal information and change your screen name if you would like. Just send me a personal message with three possible screen names. For the record you can edit most things in your account area with the exception of your screen name.
    • Thanks I never heard of that dye before, I guess I have to find more natural meat thanks for the suggestion. 
    • Yes, I only eat one meal a day. Sometimes salad or fries or whatever I can find. And thanks for the replies again.
    • A colonoscopy is not used to diagnose celiac disease.  An endoscopy is used to obtain biopsies in the small intestine.  
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,680
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Misalina
    Joined