48 replies to this topic

#1 OliviaB

OliviaB

New Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 02:15 PM

I just got diagnosed with Celiacs yesterday. I am still feeling very overwhelmed by the whole thing. They called me at about 4:00 in the evening and said my EGD confirmed that I have Celiacs and that I need to be on a gluten free diet and am welcome to stop by the clinic to pick up information about the new diet. Well, I am a nurse at a hospital and have plenty of access to patient education. I had to go to work that night and did not have time to go to the grocery store and had no gluten-free options at the house. At work, the only gluten-free options in the cafeteria that I could find was a salad. I am also a full-time student working on getting my Master's and had to come home after work to study and do school work. Still, no time to go to the store yet. I feel like I don't have the time or money for this complete life-style change. I feel silly for being so upset about not getting to have gluten anymore, but I never realized how many of my favorite things have gluten (Mini-Wheat's cereal, cookies, brownies, blueberry scones, and so on). I also have read from sources that you should be dairy-free, at least in the beginning of the gluten-free diet? No more milk or cheese?! I guess I just wanted to vent...

Any tips on quick, easy meals and breakfast foods? What are easy foods to take to work? And how do you handle going to eat at other people's houses?
Colonoscopy and EGD with biopsies: 4/9/2012
Diagnosed with Celiac Disease: 4/11/2012
Gluten-Free since 4/11/2012

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

Yum!

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,867 posts

Posted 12 April 2012 - 02:34 PM

Gee Eff has put the links for some food threads here lke what's for dinner:

http://www.celiac.co...as-what-to-eat/