27 replies to this topic

#1 JustNana

JustNana

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 113 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 11:50 AM

Two places come to mind for me. Keep in mind I'm a newbie and just a tad naive. I was shocked, yes shocked to find that my Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc supplement had wheat in it. Yeah I know. My Dr was surprised! Duh.

The second was in a bag of cashews my cousin was munching on and offered. A quick glance at ingredients said "cashews and salt.". Two hours later I was scratching with new DH flares. I hadn't had anything else since my breakfast of egg on a slice of Udis and yogurt. I dug the bag out of the trash and down at the bottom in small print was the disclaimer about shared equipment with peanuts and wheat! 

Sheesh

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 kareng

kareng

Be Royal

• Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 14,117 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 11:57 AM

Two places come to mind for me. Keep in mind I'm a newbie and just a tad naive. I was shocked, yes shocked to find that my Calcium, Magnesium, Zinc supplement had wheat in it. Yeah I know. My Dr was surprised! Duh.

The second was in a bag of cashews my cousin was munching on and offered. A quick glance at ingredients said "cashews and salt.". Two hours later I was scratching with new DH flares. I hadn't had anything else since my breakfast of egg on a slice of Udis and yogurt. I dug the bag out of the trash and down at the bottom in small print was the disclaimer about shared equipment with peanuts and wheat! 

Sheesh

Read on the DH threads. Many find that iodine triggers thier DH. I don't know which foods naturally have iodine but some salts have iodine added.

LTES

"We've waited 29 years for this and not even a Giant can stand in our way." - Mayor Sly James

Celiac.com - Celiac Disease Board Moderator

#3 mamaw

mamaw

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,964 posts

Posted 13 April 2012 - 01:03 PM