5 replies to this topic

#1 kevbogreen

kevbogreen

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 02 September 2005 - 07:36 PM

Hi...my name is Kevin im 16 and i live in Arkansas...i just found out that i have celiac diease...and i was j/w if it was hard to cope with or easy to mannage? I would apprecate ur responses...

Kevin

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 skoki_mom

skoki_mom

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 373 posts

Posted 02 September 2005 - 09:05 PM

Hi Kevin,
I'm new to all this as well. Just wanted to say welcome and I'm sure you'll find some good information and support here. It's been pretty overwhelming the last week for me, but I'm doing ok and finding there are lots of gluten-free products to try, and of course the naturally gluten-free food as well! So far I'm not starving!
LORI

Dx celiac disease Aug 25/05, ate KFC that night and gluten-free ever since

#3 tarnalberry

tarnalberry

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,542 posts

Posted 02 September 2005 - 09:38 PM

Hi...my name is Kevin im 16 and i live in Arkansas...i just found out that i have celiac diease...and i was j/w if it was hard to cope with or easy to mannage? I would apprecate ur responses...

Kevin

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Welcome to the board. I'm sorry you need to be here, but glad you found us.

As for how hard celiac disease is to cope with, it pretty much depends on how well you cope with the diet. And that varies widely. If it means that you have to greatly change your eating habits, and you also are very uncomfortable being "different" from the crowd, it'll be harder than if neither of those is true. But it's a learning curve, and it'll take some time to learn and adjust to the diet.

Are your parents supportive of the diet and will be helping you keep the kitchen/food safe?
Tiffany aka "Have I Mentioned Chocolate Lately?"
Inconclusive Blood Tests, Positive Dietary Results, No Endoscopy