This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Help Celiac.com:
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Why Can't My Body Handle Long Runs?

Kat Kuz

Kat Kuz Newbie

Hello! I am 28 and newly Celiac as of January, so I have been Gluten-Free and lactose free for almost three months. I have been iron deficient for over 10 years. I haven't felt 100% yet but definitely see the light at the end of the tunnel some days. One issue I wanted to bring up is muscle fatigue during exercise.

I was a college tennis player and would cramp up almost every match, no matter how much I trained/stretched, how many bananas I ate or hydrating drinks I drank prior to the match. I started training for my first half marathon in january and just finished a 10 mile race for training purposes. Every time I push myself hard for a run or if the run is longer than 6 miles, I would be completely out of commission the rest of the day. I slept the whole rest of the day after the 10 mile race last weekend and still felt 'off' the next day. Primary symptoms: muscle fatigue, dehydrated, tight muscles and just overall tired. I am very active, play on a tennis league and volleyball league during the week on top of working full time and running or walking after work prior to my leagues. I don't always react as extreme as noted above but I definitely do not feel as in shape as I should be with all of my exercising.