Jump to content



   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

M&M's


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 josh052980

josh052980

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 27 April 2012 - 05:22 AM

Has anyone gotten an answer one way or the other out of Mars on these? I emailed them and got the generic "We're sorry you experienced an issue, please email us the bar code and packaging dates from your product..." email. I ate a bag of these yesterday and had IMMEDIATE symptoms, which to me either says cross contamination from the pretzel M&M's they make, or I have an issue with artificial colors.

Anyone have any insight here? What are your experiences?
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 IrishHeart

IrishHeart

    Warrior Princess

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,436 posts

Posted 27 April 2012 - 05:25 AM

M and Ms are safe.

If I eat too many, I do not feel well, but I have issues with food colorings myself.

Mars Chocolate makes M&M's, Dove, Snickers and other products. The company urges gluten-free consumers to check labels, even if a product normally is gluten-free; in busy times of year (such as Halloween), Mars uses alternative facilities to make its candy, and some of those may introduce cross-contamination risks. The company says it will label any gluten ingredients or cross-contamination.

According to Mars Chocolate, the following candies are gluten-free:
M&M's (all EXCEPT for pretzel-flavored M&M's)
3 Musketeers Bars (all flavors)
Milky Way Midnight Bar
Milky Way Caramel Bar
Dove Chocolate products (all flavors)
Snickers Bars (all flavors)
Munch Nut Bar

The following Mars Chocolate products are NOT gluten-free:
Milky Way Bar (original)
Mars Bar

Contact Mars Chocolate at 800-627-7852.
  • 0

"Life is not the way it's supposed to be. It's the way it is. The way we cope with it makes the difference." Virginia Satir

"The strongest of all warriors are these two - time and patience." Leo Tolstoy

"If you want to lift yourself up, lift up someone else" Booker T. Washington

“If idiots could fly, the sky would be like an airport.”― Laura Davenport 

"Do or do not. There is no try. "-  Yoda.

"LTES"  Gem 2014

 

Misdiagnosed for 25+ years; Finally Diagnosed with Celiac  11/01/10.  Double DQ2 genes. This thing tried to kill me. I view Celiac as a fire breathing dragon --and I have run my sword right through his throat.
I. Win. bliss-smiley-emoticon.gif


#3 smsm

smsm

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 78 posts

Posted 28 April 2012 - 08:11 AM

I called them a few weeks ago to check out the cc rumors and was told that if there is a chance of cc with the pretzel ones, there will be a warning on the back that says it may contain wheat. I was told if there is no warning, then they are not made on the same lines as the pretzel ones. I gave them to my kids after that (from a bag with no cc warning) and there was no reaction. I hope that helps!
  • 0


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: