This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

When Someone Asks, "how Can I Get That [Celiac]?"

Finally-45

Finally-45 Contributor

I'm still in my first year and I noticed that even though there is a growing awareness of Celiac disease, there may be some insensitivity to the condition. I am a thin person and by no means do I think there is some advantage to being thin. I'm uncomfortable when people who are heavier than me jokingly act as if I'm lucky to have a condition that has apparently damaged my gut so badly, I went years with food literally passing through me had very little weight gain. (I still can't believe it took this long to get a diagnosis, but that's another post.) I know some people don't understand the overall lifetime problems I've had (like problems having children, joint aches, stomach aches, etc...), but it still seems so insensitive.

What do you say to comments like that? Once someone said that I have good will power. I replied, "No, I have a constant reminder of the painful consequences of going off the diet. It's not like I feel satisfied from eating...[gluten]...almost immediately I feel sick to my stomach...." That seemed to be a good reply.

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

dani nero Community Regular

It's better than people taking one look at you and thinking they know what and how much you eat just because you're overweight, including doctors.