3 replies to this topic

#1 Mateto

Mateto

Advanced Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 189 posts

Posted 02 May 2012 - 04:04 PM

Well Sunday I had dinner at my Dad's. Chicken which was stuffed with stove-top like dressing. I was given the chicken leg, which was kept separate from the dressing. I then loaded my plate with vegetables, ate, and enjoyed!

Monday however I had a splitting headache, and my stomach was trying to talk to me.

I'm telling you this because this is my first time being glutened since going gluten-free, and it was just....strange. I know it must have been the dressing, and my Dad's ignorance when serving it. He knows I can't eat gluten, but he doesn't grasp cross-contamination.

Anyways it came as a fright, becuase my headache never "progressed". It just hit me like someone hit me with a stick.

I think I've figured out my gluten "signal light".
Gluten-free since St George's Day this year :)

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 ravenwoodglass

ravenwoodglass

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,772 posts

Posted 03 May 2012 - 03:07 AM

I hope you don't get too ill. It can be hard for us to eat at folks homes that are not gluten free because they don't know all the things we need to do to keep us safe. Many of us eat before we go to gatherings with family and friends or bring our own food for that reason. Hope your feeling better soon.
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)

celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis