Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Malt Diastase
0

29 posts in this topic

Malt Diastase is an ingredient in my liquid vitamins. Does anyone know if it contains gluten? I read on another post that its from barley. The vitamins say "does not contain gluten products". The last time I had the vitamins was 1 week ago...I got a reaction later that day but assumed it was something I ate. Everytime I get a reaction I'll stop all supplements or whatever foods might be suspect. Seems like I've been on and off of those vitamins for months now. Now that I'm gluten-free I figured the vitamins were safe due to the labeling which is why I started taking them again. <_<

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Hey Rachel:

Malt diastase is derived from BARLEY. So it's GLUTEN!!! I continued to take daily digestive enzymes with malt diastase for 8 months after I went gluten-free and wondered why I wasn't getting complete pain relief. That ingredient is in a LOT of vitamins, supplements and digestive enzymes. I'm certain that's what you reacted to. Sorry ... I hope you can find a gluten-free vitamin substitute.

BURDEE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well it would definately explain alot. How come the label says its gluten free? Can they just put that on the label even if its false? I would have figured it out alot sooner had it not been for that. Sheeesh. Thanks for letting me know.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Did the label say 'gluten free' or 'wheat free'? That can be confusing, but food manufacturers who use barley derivatives will often list their product as 'wheat free'. :( FYI Malt is BARLEY seed which is artifically germinated, dried and then used in the form of an extract as a flavoring agent. So malt ANYTHING is barley. BTW Rice Dream milk also uses barley to process their product. <_<

BURDEE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The label says free of all gluten & wheat products. I know about malt and Rice Dream but the labeling on this product has me confused.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




If the product lists 'malt diastase' as an ingredient, the company can't ethically label that product 'gluten free'. From what I've read, anything with the word 'malt' in front of it has been derived from barley. Have you called the company? I sure would ask them how they could label something gluten free if it contains barley.

BURDEE

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I would definlty all the company. Maybe they just dont know that malt is gluten...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow, I would definitely call and complain. The company is either making a false claim or possibly through the process they put the stuff through makes it ok(kind of like through a distillation process) I don't know but I would definitely call.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I would sue em for making your stomach hurt and false labeling  :P

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

:lol: I don't get tummy aches so I'll have to sue them for making me lose 5 lbs that I worked hard to gain and also making me lose more hair! :angry:

I called the company but was told there was noone there to help me...to call back later. <_< Lame. I'm noticing that alot of vitamins and digestive enzymes have the malt diastase in them and also are labeled gluten-free. Maybe you're right Kaiti and somehow they think the gluten doesn't survive some kind of process they put it through. Maybe the malt is from something other than barley??? All I know is I'm being extra strict with my food journal the last few weeks and when I look back the days I got sick were the days I took the vitamins. <_<

HELLO...vitamins are supposed to help my hair grow back...not fall out even more!!!! :blink:

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Rachel-

What brand were your vitamins?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Rachel-

What brand were your vitamins?

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

The brand is Utrition..

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
The brand is Utrition..

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

I use that brand too....and they are gluten free from the info I have found out.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I use that brand too....and they are gluten free from the info I have found out.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>

Does yours contain malt diastase too? I'm still going to call them and find out what that is cuz I feel like the vitamins are what was making me sick. I havent had any gluten-like symptoms since I stopped taking them....it took a week to recover but I'm good now. My hair stopped falling out so much too. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

It could have *only* been the vitamins or Garden of Eatin chips which aren't guaranteed gluten-free anymore because of cross-contamination. Is it more likely the chips?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes, mine do say malt diastase on the label and they guaranteed it was free of gluten when we called to. I think I will call and ask specifically about that though.

The chips could be a possibility from a gluten standpoint or if there is something else in them you are sensitive too.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Fouds this...

Malt Diastase

Malt diastase is a carbohydrolytic enzyme useful for digestive support and general nutrition support. Malt diastase is characterized by the ability to break down amylose and other polysaccharides. The enzyme works with amylase and glucoamylase to digest carbohydrate rich foods such as grains as well as malt, maltose, and sugars. Malt diastase is also known as maltase. It is produced by the cells lining the small intestine.

Its not froma grain source if thats right.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Malt diastase is also known as maltase

I didn't know that it was also known as maltase- but to my belief that is ok... bad name huh?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Good job VydorScope!!

So I guess that mystery is solved and I'll have to blame something else for my hairloss. <_<

Well I think I'm still a little terrified of the vitamins so I'll look for another brand. This one tastes so good though...almost like pineapple. :D

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I felt bad today so did a search on malt diastase because I found it in my new digestive enzymes and wondered if it was what made me ill. I found this old thread, but did some more research and discovered where they actually get malt diastase from. I guess it is also produced in the intestines from what was posted before, but this is the process I found that they use to make it as an ingredient.

Malting - Steep barley in cold water for 2 to 3 days, draining water roughly once a day. The slowly stir the barley. As the wet grain comes in contact with the air, germination begins. This process creates enzymes, malt diastase being one of these, is responsible for turning starch into sugar. After about six days of germination, the barley can be considered as malt.

I just thought I'd pass the info on.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I wanted to say two things here--this is the thread I stumbled on last fall when I was looking up malt diastase on the internet. It led me to the forum--the rest is history :lol: .

The other is, so is it or isn't malt diastase safe? After reading everything here, again, I must be thick--I still can't tell :(

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
I wanted to say two things here--this is the thread I stumbled on last fall when I was looking up malt diastase on the internet. It led me to the forum--the rest is history :lol: .

The other is, so is it or isn't malt diastase safe? After reading everything here, again, I must be thick--I still can't tell :(

Ahhh...so thats how you stumbled onto the site. :)

I think we had decided back then that the malt diastase was safe after all. Kaiti was taking those same vitamins with the malt diastase and never had a problem. I had a problem but in case noones noticed by now...I have problems with *lots* of things. :rolleyes: Lots of products list malt diastase as an ingredient but are also labeled gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks Rachel--I ended up discontinuing the digestive enzymes that had the malt diastase in them. Not because they made me sick, just to be safe.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I saw this post and was just wondering the same thing about the enzymes I just started taking. I too have been suffering the past few days I have been taking them. I think we really need to know the truth about this. It isn't fair for people to take something that says gluten free on it when it isn't. How do we find out the scoop. Has anyone called yet?

Let me know.

I will call too.

Monica

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi. This is my very first post here!

Yeah, ok...anyway...

I'm researching the whole "malt diastase" question as well. Please update this thread if you know of ANY digestive enzyme supplement that safely has this ingredient in it. I (very sadly) just discovered that MY supplement contains it as well. Argh. I'm so not going to be happy if it IS from barley in my specific brand...

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,358
    • Total Posts
      920,531
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Here's another thing.  Feeling deprived?  Order two of the same item.  I was hungry by the time dinner arrived! 
    • The doctors just made me feel like I was crazy because they did not have a clue of what was wrong with me. I did a stool test (positive) and I did a genes test (positive for two gluten sensitive genes, one in each chromosome).  Blood test are not so foolproof, if you read the comments/experiences in such topic you will see the problems. Biopsy can give a false negative if taken from an undamaged area. If you have medical problems that go away once on a gluten free diet then gluten is the problem. The medical establishment profit from managing your medical problems and big pharma makes money by pushing pills so we need to be careful because they won't benefit if a gluten-free diet solve your problems. Since I started a Gluten free diet I have been free of the following: (all related to Celiac)  Irregularity, Intestinal noise, Irregular stool, Tooth enamel defects, Rash in upper arms, Abdominal swelling, depression, fatigue, irritability, lactose intolerance, 
      loss of memory, dandruff, uncontrollable bladder, suicidal thoughts, unable to sleep, Canker sores/ Mouth ulcers, high blood pressure, and probably others that I did not realize. I was at the end of my rope, thanks to Google and the people that are able to talk about this I was able to get my life back. I am passionate about this because I know how bad its can get. 
    • Well, I have never cruised on Carnival, but I am sure they can accommodate you.  I assume that you have already alerted them that you require gluten free meals.  If not, please contact Carnival immediately. Here are my own tips.  Some folks eat off the buffet line, but not me or hubby except for coffee/drinks and baked potatoes (jacketed) and fruit that we wash in the restroom (people touch everything!)  Okay, I am OCD, but my last glutening which occurred the previous summer made me sick for three months (GI tested my antibodies to prove it).   When we board, I go to the buffet restaurant ASAP and ask to speak to the Head Waiter (they are usually there greeting customers and often trying to up sell to specialty restaurants.   Let them know you have celiac disease and must be gluten free.  They may try to tell you that each dish is clearly marked gluten free, but really?  Who's to say that some other passenger is not going to switch spoons (or I have seen passengers wandering around with serving spoons...I kid you not!  The staff usually will  go downstairs and fetch a gluten free meal for me from the main dining room's kitchen as there is usually a dedicated area for allergies.  We have to wait up to 20 minutes or so but it is worth it.  Starving?  Get a baked potato wrapped in foil until your gluten-free meal arrives.  Now, do not do this every single time.  Those folks have to go down several levels to fetch food and you don't want to be a pain.  But if the main dining area is closed, they need to make an effort to keep you safe.  On our last cruise, we were advised not to eat anywhere but the main dining room and that included room service (they are not trained to handled allergies).  My headwaiters have sent goodies (prepackaged gluten free rolls and cookies for us to keep in our room.  We can always grab whole fruit (I wash it first) to snack on.  I bring gluten-free non-perishable items with me to eat while at port in case we can't find anything (which can be often).  Again, when we get back to our ship, we contact our headwaiter and he/she can prepare some snacks until we have dinner.   Be grateful and not picky.   We eat all meals in the dining room (or at least as much as possible).  Our headwaiter had a few other celiacs on our cruise this summer, so they prepared some gluten-free waffles, etc. for our breakfast!  What a treat!  At breakfast, we'd have different waiters, so our headwaiter would always instruct our waiters each and every time!  They even let me tour the kitchen and showed me the allergy section.   The only time I did not feel safe was at the buffet.  We once ordered gluten-free pizza and I realized (I watched) that that restaurant didn't really have the gluten-free thing down), do I called him on it.  Got the manager etc.  So, be careful.  Other cruises made us frozen Udi"s which was just fine with us.  They covered it up in foil so that we would not get any cross contamination from their pizza oven. So, have fun!   Tipping?  We prepaid our gratuities, but we gave our headwaiter an extra $200.00 for his time.  For us, it was well worth the service and safety of our food.  It does not hurt to slip some of the tip ahead of time (like after your first meal!)   Oh, I checked your ship.  You must eat in the diningroom if you have special dietary needs.
    • French Celiac / Coeliac Gluten Free Restaurant Card <strong>What is ... What to know about celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and gluten-free diets. View the full article
    • <strong>Celiac Disease & Gluten-free Diet Information at Celiac.com. Gluten Free Diabetes ::The 3 Step Trick that Reverses Diabetes Permanently in ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,432
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    rbeckler60
    Joined