Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Photo
- - - - -

Skinny Girl Products


  • Please log in to reply

1 reply to this topic

#1 varthurs

 
varthurs

    New Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • Pip
  • 19 posts
 

Posted 04 May 2012 - 04:41 AM

Below is the response I promptly received from Skinnygirl regarding gluten in their products. I'm curious if what they say about distillation is correct and if these would be considered safe? Thanks.

The ingredients in Skinnygirl Margarita are not produced from cereals containing gluten and do not contain gluten.

The alcohol in Skinnygirl Sangria do not contain gluten. A portion of the other ingredients in this product were produced from cereals containing gluten that were added prior to distillation. Gluten can be found in small grains such as rye, barley, oats, wheat, etc. [b][b]It is generally accepted that the process of distillation excludes gluten in the finished product.

The primary alcohol sources in Skinnygirl Cosmo, Bare Nakes, Cucumber, and Tangerine are produced from the fermentation and distillation of cereals containing gluten such as rye, barley, oats, wheat, etc.. Gluten can be found in small grains such as rye, barley, oats, wheat, etc. It is generally accepted that the process of distillation excludes gluten in the finished product. The secondary alcohol source and other ingredients are not produced from cereals containing gluten and do not contain gluten.

Beam does not advise legal age adults whether to drink or not to drink; this is a decision you may want to discuss with your physician if you have any questions. Your physician may be able to provide personalized advice about this issue based on the information provided above.
  • 0

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 ravenwoodglass

 
ravenwoodglass

    Advanced Community Member

  • Advanced Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,765 posts
 

Posted 04 May 2012 - 01:23 PM

Most celiacs are okay with distilled gluten grains. There are a very few, myself included, who don't tolerate them. I don't know which group you would fall in. You might want to try them out when you are for sure eating safe items to see if you react. If you are new to the diet your system may have a hard time with alcohol whether it is gluten free or not.
  • 0
Courage does not always roar, sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying
"I will try again tommorrow" (Mary Anne Radmacher)


celiac 49 years - Misdiagnosed for 45
Blood tested and repeatedly negative
Diagnosed by Allergist with elimination diet and diagnosis confirmed by GI in 2002
Misdiagnoses for 15 years were IBS-D, ataxia, migraines, anxiety, depression, fibromyalgia, parathesias, arthritis, livedo reticularis, hairloss, premature menopause, osteoporosis, kidney damage, diverticulosis, prediabetes and ulcers, dermatitis herpeformis
All bold resoved or went into remission with proper diagnosis of Celiac November 2002
Some residual nerve damage remains as of 2006- this has continued to resolve after eliminating soy in 2007

Mother died of celiac related cancer at 56
Twin brother died as a result of autoimmune liver destruction at age 15

Children 2 with Ulcers, GERD, Depression, , 1 with DH, 1 with severe growth stunting (male adult 5 feet)both finally diagnosed Celiac through blood testing and 1 with endo 6 months after Mom


Positive to Soy and Casien also Aug 2007

Gluten Sensitivity Gene Test Aug 2007
HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 1 0303

HLA-DQB1 Molecular analysis, Allele 2 0303

Serologic equivalent: HLA-DQ 3,3 (Subtype 9,9)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Celiac.com Sponsors: