5 replies to this topic

#1 kendick

kendick

New Community Member

• Members
  • Pip
  • 6 posts

Posted 04 May 2012 - 11:00 PM

My oncologist has told me that I am annemic and need B-12 in my system. He explained that B-12 will not be absorbed in my stomach so I don't get any B-12 in my bloodstream. He put me on shots. Once per week. He says probably for the rest of my life. Ive always been the low-metabilism type guy. Always tired, etc. Does anybody have experience with this? Will this help me to get my energy back that I lost years ago? He also told me that I've probably had celiac for many years. I'm 54 and havent felt great for a long, long time. So, I was just wondering if anybody out there has the same issues !!Thanks. This is my first time here. I was just diagnosted last month so Im still trying to figure everything out with this problem......

Celiac.com Sponsor:

#2 Ziva

Ziva

Community Member

• Advanced Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 05 May 2012 - 04:21 AM

I am relatively new to Celiac and am trying to figure out what this all means for me also. I didn't know there was anything wrong with me until Dec. when a GI doc mentioned anemia during a routine colonoscopy at 50. As I have read more about Celiac, I can say I can identify with some symptoms and defiantly have some absorption issues resulting in anemia, Vit D and recently told of B12. On Wedn. I was put on weekly B12 shots for 24 weeks. I thought weekly seems a little different than what I heard others say, but I'm going to give it a try. My husband was put on the same amount but once a month. Different doctor than mine. From what I have read, it seems the shots are the best way to go because of the absorption issues with people with Celiac. I'm sure all people are different, but I had the impression that once off gluten and your intestines heal, your body would then absorb the nutrients and you wouldn't have to stay on the shots. As I said, I am new and learning as I go.