Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Woodchuck Cider Soy And Dairy Free?
0

9 posts in this topic

Does anyone know if Woodchuck cider is soy and dairy free? Darn those natural flavors!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

While "natural flavors" can contain gluten, they very rarely actually do. The most likely source would be barley malt, and that is a relatively expensive ingredient, so it is usually explicitly declared as "malt flavor."

If there were wheat in it, in the US it would be required by law to be disclosed as just that, "wheat."

Shelley Case on flavorings:

It would be rare to find a "natural or artificial flavoring" containing gluten (a) because hydrolyzed wheat protein cannot be hidden under the term "flavor." and (B) barley malt extract is almost always declared as "barley malt extract" or "barley malt flavoring." For this reason, most experts do not restrict natural and artificial flavorings in the gluten-free diet.

Gluten-Free Diet - A Comprehensive Resource Guide, published 2008, page 46

That said, soy and milk are FALCPA top-eight allergens that must, by law, be disclosed in the USA. In Canada, they are "priority allergens" that CFIA rules require to be disclosed.

No worries.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That said, soy and milk are FALCPA top-eight allergens that must, by law, be disclosed in the USA. In Canada, they are "priority allergens" that CFIA rules require to be disclosed.

In the US, FALCPA does not apply to alcoholic beverages. It only applies to FDA-regulated foods.

(I'll see your big font and raise you a boldface. Heh!)

I doubt there would be soy or dairy in the "natural ingredients" in cider but the best bet is to check with the manufacturer.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the replies! I'll call Monday and post their reply.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That said, soy and milk are FALCPA top-eight allergens that must, by law, be disclosed in the USA. In Canada, they are "priority allergens" that CFIA rules require to be disclosed.

No worries.

This applies to foods but not to alcoholic beverages in the US. No ingrediennts at all need to be listed on alcohol here. That said Woodchuck is gluten, soy and dairy free AFAIK. I drink it on occasion.

Edit: Whoops, sorry didn't realize this info had already been posted. I'm not fully awake yet.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




Ingredients do not need to be listed on alcoholic beverages, but my understanding is that if they are listed, they need to comply with all regulations and FALCPA.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Ingredients do not need to be listed on alcoholic beverages, but my understanding is that if they are listed, they need to comply with all regulations and FALCPA.

As far as I can tell, alcoholic beverages are under the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, and Firearms. Certain non-malted beers, wine coolers, and low-alcohol cooking wines fall under FDA jurisdiction. Beer, wine, spirits, and hard cider would be exempt from FALCPA. FALCPA applies to packaged food, which is regulated under FDA. Meat, poultry, and eggs are also exempt from FALCPA because they are under USDA guidelines. (USDA does have a law requiring the declaration of grain fillers.) OTC and prescription medications are also exempt from FALCPA, although many manufacturers voluntarily comply.

It's a hard slog thought the regulatory documents but you might find this helpful.

http://www.fda.gov/Food/NewsEvents/ConstituentUpdates/ucm179225.htm?utm_campaign=Google2&utm_source=fdaSearch&utm_medium=website&utm_term=beer%20labeling&utm_content=3

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I called and they told me that the natural flavors are "apple flavoring", and are gluten, dairy and soy free. It's my understanding that if the flavor is specified (like "apple" instead of "natural"), it doesn't contain any other ingredients. I sure hope the extraction method doesn't involve gluten... anyone know?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wood chuck ciders are gluten-free. They even say so on them.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,115
    • Total Posts
      919,447
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Well, you can probably get an apple or something.  You might be able to get someone to boil you some eggs.  But be careful of things like nuts that should be naturally gluten free.  They have almost always been soaked in a flavor solution that usually containes caramel coloring, "soy" (wheat) sauce and other aditives.  If I am really hungry and must eat in a Chinese restaurant, I order plain white rice and steamed vegetables.  But even so, you must monitor it carefully.  The rice sometimes has other substances added to give it a better texture, and very often the vegetables have in fact had "just a little bit" of soy sauce added.  To be fair, celiac disease is hardly ever found in East Asians, so understandably people are not tuned it to it.  Also, culturally, with the exception of fruits, it is generally thought that the flavor of foods needs to be enhanced, so it is had to find anything natural even in the "western" gorceries. Even in the western restaurants, be careful.  Fish and meat and often vegetables are usually pre-marinated. I will not even attempt to address the issue of cross-comtamination, since that is a whole higher order of things. I do know what I am talking about; I have celiac and have worked here for nearly 7 years.  
    • I'm glad I found these forums!  I will spend some more time this evening reading through them.  But I wanted to get my question out there just to see if anyone else might have answers quicker than I can sift through the forum for them.      I've been feeling terrible for about a year, and after an elimination diet last month, figured out that if nothing else, gluten/wheat is a problem.  After lots of research, I abandoned the elimination diet and added gluten back in, so that I could get tested for Celiac.   I was off gluten for 3 weeks, from mid-June until early July.  I've had it back in my diet for almost 3 weeks now.    My question is this: Since I was off gluten for 3 weeks, and now back on for almost 3, is that enough time on to yield a positive Celiac blood test, if that indeed is what I have?  All the research I've done says 4-6 weeks for a gluten challenge, but is that really necessary if I was only not eating it for 3 weeks?  I am desperate to get this testing done and over with.  I feel terrible all the time and getting through the day is a struggle.  My doctor ran allergy panels already and everything came back clear except for a mild wheat allergy.  So if nothing else, I'll have to give up wheat for sure at the end of all this.  I get the feeling she doesn't know a ton about Celiac though, so I'm doing a lot of the research on my own. Any advice or information would be so appreciated! 
    • Hi Michael, That's quite a spike in blood pressure!  I haven't tested that myself and don't want to if it means I have to eat gluten.  Blood pressure testing to identify food reactions is something that has come up before.  It sounds like it might be possible but I don't know how much study has been done on it.  Probably not much since it is such a simple, straight forward idea. Welcome to the forum!
    • Hi Megan, Did the doctor test you for celiac disease?  You really shouldn't go gluten-free until all the testing for celiac disease is completed.  It is a little odd for a doctor to tell you to go gluten-free for no reason IMHO.  Did he/she explain the reason for it? Personally, I have learned over the years what I can eat safely and what I can't.  Occasionally I get hit but it is rare.  Simplifying your diet is a good first step.  Avoiding processed foods for a while and dairy also is good.  I suggest any change you make last for a month at least. Then try the food again. If you are eating 100 random ingredients/foods each day it is hard to figure these things out.  If you reduce it to a much smaller number of foods then things become simpler. Welcome to the forum!
    • Finally, proof that non-celiac gluten sensitivity is real. ... for the 30 percent of consumers who choose to buy gluten-free products and the 41 percent of ... View the full article
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,154
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    calla84
    Joined