Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Gluten-Free in Canada
0

16 posts in this topic

Sadly, in Canada the term "Gluten Free" is not regulated.

That isn't true. There are strict rules, but they only pertain to intentionally included ingredients derived from gluten grains.

Here is the applicable Canadian regulation.

Food and Drug Regulation B.24.018

No person shall label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is gluten-free unless the food does not contain wheat, including spelt and kamut, or oats, barley, rye or triticale or any part thereof.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

That isn't true. There are strict rules, but they only pertain to intentionally included ingredients derived from gluten grains.

Here is the applicable Canadian regulation.

Food and Drug Regulation B.24.018

No person shall label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is gluten-free unless the food does not contain wheat, including spelt and kamut, or oats, barley, rye or triticale or any part thereof.

My bad! What I meant was your corner bakery can make things with rice flour using the same bowls, mixers, and ovens as their wheat products and still call them "gluten free". The food does not contain wheat as an ingredient but is more than likely cross contaminated.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If they don't take proper precautions, and therefore know that the product is contaminated, then it would be a violation of the rule to represent it as gluten-free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If they don't take proper precautions, and therefore know that the product is contaminated, then it would be a violation of the rule to represent it as gluten-free.

Sadly, most local bakeries and restaurants (I'm only talking about Montreal) just don't understand the difference. They think that because they make something with rice or corn flour, etc. that the product is magically gluten free. That is why I always ask, if for no other reason than to let them know there is a big difference between "no wheat" and "gluten free" and to help them realize that people can get very sick as a result.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So is zero 8 confirmed to be okay though? We're going up then flying to newfoundland next week but when we get back we're gonna head to ottawa before driving home. We're gonna want supper haha

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




So is zero 8 confirmed to be okay though? We're going up then flying to newfoundland next week but when we get back we're gonna head to ottawa before driving home. We're gonna want supper haha

Newfoundland? It's currently Rain, Drizzle, Fog, and rain, with a chance of flurries :P

Actually on August 4th, items in Canada that are gluten-free will indeed be labelled, or rather, things which contain "gluten" will be labelled as part of the new Allergen & Gluten Labelling Law.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually on August 4th, items in Canada that are gluten-free will indeed be labelled, or rather, things which contain "gluten" will be labelled as part of the new Allergen & Gluten Labelling Law.

Which improves on what is already a better set of rules than in the US. We have a definition of "gluten-free" and wheat must already be disclosed as a priority allergen. We have no exemption for "highly refined oils"--the loophole that allows soybean oil to be labelled in the US as "vegetable oil" without disclosing soy as the source.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Newfoundland? It's currently Rain, Drizzle, Fog, and rain, with a chance of flurries :P

Actually on August 4th, items in Canada that are gluten-free will indeed be labelled, or rather, things which contain "gluten" will be labelled as part of the new Allergen & Gluten Labelling Law.

Haha yes I am from newfoundland..sounds like home to me! I am anticipating needing sweaters lol I'll be prepared :D

So now everything containing gluten will have gluten in the ingredient label plain as day?

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

So is zero 8 confirmed to be okay though? We're going up then flying to newfoundland next week but when we get back we're gonna head to ottawa before driving home. We're gonna want supper haha

Krista, what do you mean by "zero 8"? It is not a term that I recognize.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Which improves on what is already a better set of rules than in the US. We have a definition of "gluten-free" and wheat must already be disclosed as a priority allergen. We have no exemption for "highly refined oils"--the loophole that allows soybean oil to be labelled in the US as "vegetable oil" without disclosing soy as the source.

Sadly we went to the grocery store one day intending to buy vegetable oil and looking on the back everything said soybean. Could not find one that was labelled vegetable oil that wasn't soy oil. So we went with canola. I also use Olive oil. But it was really annoying to see after finding out i am hypothyroid and should stay away from soy *sighs*.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Krista, what do you mean by "zero 8"? It is not a term that I recognize.

The restaurant mentioned in this thread-

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

The restaurant mentioned in this thread-

If they label it gluten-free, it probably is safe. There is a strict rule in Canada about claiming something is gluten-free, and the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) will take enforcement action if suitable practices are not being taken to avoid cross-contamination. However, there is never any absolute guarantee.

Here is the applicable Canadian regulation.

Food and Drug Regulation B.24.018

No person shall label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is gluten-free unless the food does not contain wheat, including spelt and kamut, or oats, barley, rye or triticale or any part thereof.

Under this rule, gluten-free means gluten-free. It even goes so far as to say that selling "gluten-free oats" is illegal in Canada. It is so restrictive, when taken with another regulation, that many foods that are actually gluten-free may not legally be so labeled.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Food and Drug Regulation B.24.018

No person shall label, package, sell or advertise a food in a manner likely to create an impression that it is gluten-free unless the food does not contain wheat, including spelt and kamut, or oats, barley, rye or triticale or any part thereof.

Under this rule, gluten-free means gluten-free. It even goes so far as to say that selling "gluten-free oats" is illegal in Canada. It is so restrictive, when taken with another regulation, that many foods that are actually gluten-free may not legally be so labeled.

Does that mean that all the "safe" dextrose and glucose-fructose syrup and such have to be labeled as wheat derived as well? That would be great.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
It is so restrictive, when taken with another regulation, that many foods that are actually gluten-free may not legally be so labeled.

Does that mean that all the "safe" dextrose and glucose-fructose syrup and such have to be labeled as wheat derived as well? That would be great.

Yes, it means that although dextrose, maltodextrin, glucose-fructose syrup and some other refined ingredients derived from wheat contain no detectable gluten using tests sensitive to 3 ppm, and those ingredients are typically a very small percentage of the final product, it can not be labelled gluten-free in Canada.

A different regulation deals with allergy disclosure, and it currently considers wheat a "priority allergen," whose presence must be disclosed. In addition to the the FALCPA "top eight" allergens recognized in the US, Canada currently includes sesame seeds and sulphites. As of August this year, the other gluten grains (barley, rye and oats) will be added to the priority allergen list, along with mustard seeds.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Haha yes I am from newfoundland..sounds like home to me! I am anticipating needing sweaters lol I'll be prepared :D

So now everything containing gluten will have gluten in the ingredient label plain as day?

Yeee!

You'll find of us everywhere b'y!

Yes the labelling will be rather clear I read, which is good good good.

The UK has a law similar to this, and we're going in those footsteps, which is needed.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeee!

You'll find of us everywhere b'y!

Yes the labelling will be rather clear I read, which is good good good.

The UK has a law similar to this, and we're going in those footsteps, which is needed.

hahahaha Yes b'y we're like a plague taking over the planet! ;D Almost anywhere you go you can run into another Newfoundlander haha ;D

But that's certainly awesome news about the labeling. I guess the trip after this one it will probably be implemented! Right now I'm worried about finding products i know are safe down here...going home on my visit and finding the same product and it turning out it's not gluten free.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,376
    • Total Posts
      920,581
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Consider using our forum private message feature to protect privacy....just in case you all did not know 😉 !
    • Hi Beachgrl, It won't hurt anything to go gluten-free now, except the possibility of getting a diagnosis of celiac disease.  When i went gluten-free, it seemed like the initial changes were spread over about 6 weeks.  I had gut spasms for that time.  And other changes, all for the better.  Initial recovery from celiac damage can take up to 18 months, so it can be a slow thing.  Some people get better much faster of course, because we are all individuals and not identical. Going gluten-free for celiac disease is a lifetime commitment though, and some people have a hard time doing that without a diagnosis.  Even minor amounts of gluten can cause us to react, so it is best to eat a very simple diet of whole foods at first.  Avoid dairy and processed foods.  I hope it works out for you.  I know some people with Crohns disease eat gluten-free and find it helps them.  Gluten is a tough thing to digest for all people, but most don't have an immune reaction to it like celiacs do.  
    • Honestly, I would not trust the school to provide a gluten-free meal except for fruit, salads, veggies, etc. I sub in a school cafeteria and I swear everything is breaded or on bread. Utensils are shared. They're very clean but unless you have a very knowledgeable person in there, I just wouldn't chance it. I found a slim Jim type snack that says gluten-free on it. If you want to give me your email or FB account, I can send you some very valuable info on 504's though. They carry the student right through college. I kept a copy of what a friend wrote about her daughter being in a sorority and just how the 504 helped immensely. But, I would definitely get one and still be prepared to pack a lunch. All our meals are delivered frozen and we just hear them up. If your school actually fixes food, that's different. 
    • Oh, I would suggest providing gluten-free goodies (e.g. Candy) or even a frozen cupcake (kept in the teacher's freezer) in the event of a party.  My daughter's classmate is severely allergic to peanuts.  Her mom did that and Abby was never left out!  😊
    • Hi Nobody, Welcome to the forum!  I noticed you said you have been avoiding wheat products.  That's good, but are you avoiding rye and barley also?  Wheat, rye, and barley are the 3 grains that cause reactions in celiac patients.  About 10% also react to oats. If you haven't had the full celiac antibodies test panel, it might be worthwhile getting that done now.  The ttg is just a basic test and is generally followed up by an endoscopy or the full celiac panel. I wouldn't worry a lot about getting cancer.  That doesn't happen often. It is possible some of the other grains you might be eating are contaminated.  A group did a test on several off the shelf products a few years ago that would not normally be thought of as having gluten and found some actually did have low levels of gluten.  Things like corn meal for example.    
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,453
    • Most Online
      1,763

    Newest Member
    Chelsealarita
    Joined