Get email alerts Get Celiac.com E-mail Alerts  




Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:




Ads by Google:






   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

Shouldn't Have Had The Mike's Hard Lemonade
0

19 posts in this topic

Ok, rookie mistake. Actually no, not rookie mistake, just my willingness to take a chance on something. This is totally not meant to be a debate on the Mike's Hard Lemonade products, nor a claim I was glutened by Mike's. Just my own personal experience that something didn't agree with me after consuming it.

Now, I'll will fully disclose it was a regular (not lite) Mike's Lemonade. I know the lite versions are the only ones tested at gluten-free. But, after reading lots of other info I made the decision to drink a regular version (cause that's what we had on hand) with the thought that the production process/distillation is/was the same as that for the lite products (so if lite is gluten-free and made the same way with same ingredients as the regular than the regular is gluten-free too).

Well all was fine when I drank one last night with food. It tasted GREAT (haven't had one since last summer, long before going gluten-free) and I had no immediate negative reaction. I woke up this morning (~8hrs later) with a yucky feeling belly. I wasn't bloated or distended (which is my usual glutening symptom) just uncomfortable. Then I had several brief occasions of pain like I was being scraped inside by jagged glass. Yes! That feeling many of you have written about but I could never recall feeling. Well, now I know what you are all talking about (unfortunately). This was followed by 2 BMs, the 2nd being many small thin pieces (sorry TMI). I feel ok otherwise (no migraine or fog or heartburn) and think the rest will pass quickly.

So, now I'm banging my head on the table for making such a stupid decision. Again, I'm not going to say I was glutened by Mike's, just that it didn't agree with me. It's too bad, because that's such a fun drink on a warm night.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites


Ads by Google:

Ok, rookie mistake. Actually no, not rookie mistake, just my willingness to take a chance on something. This is totally not meant to be a debate on the Mike's Hard Lemonade products, nor a claim I was glutened by Mike's. Just my own personal experience that something didn't agree with me after consuming it.

Now, I'll will fully disclose it was a regular (not lite) Mike's Lemonade. I know the lite versions are the only ones tested at gluten-free. But, after reading lots of other info I made the decision to drink a regular version (cause that's what we had on hand) with the thought that the production process/distillation is/was the same as that for the lite products (so if lite is gluten-free and made the same way with same ingredients as the regular than the regular is gluten-free too).

Well all was fine when I drank one last night with food. It tasted GREAT (haven't had one since last summer, long before going gluten-free) and I had no immediate negative reaction. I woke up this morning (~8hrs later) with a yucky feeling belly. I wasn't bloated or distended (which is my usual glutening symptom) just uncomfortable. Then I had several brief occasions of pain like I was being scraped inside by jagged glass. Yes! That feeling many of you have written about but I could never recall feeling. Well, now I know what you are all talking about (unfortunately). This was followed by 2 BMs, the 2nd being many small thin pieces (sorry TMI). I feel ok otherwise (no migraine or fog or heartburn) and think the rest will pass quickly.

So, now I'm banging my head on the table for making such a stupid decision. Again, I'm not going to say I was glutened by Mike's, just that it didn't agree with me. It's too bad, because that's such a fun drink on a warm night.

Aren't they considered "malt beverages"? I thought all malt beverages were NOT gluten free.... even the light ones....

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Aren't they considered "malt beverages"? I thought all malt beverages were NOT gluten free.... even the light ones....

This was going to be my comment.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes they are. However Mikes has done Elisa testing on the lites and they test at less than 5ppm. They have info on their FAQ page. They have staff with celiac involved in the testing.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't know that about Mike's. I loved those things - but just the first one. They always give (gave) me a headache. I think it's something else - not gluten, because I could drink a beer without a headache before gluten-free.

Now I'm sure it would be gluten :).

Make your own lemonade and spike it. Yum yum!

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites




This stuff that contains gluten grains but supposedly is gluten free is being pushed on us and I don't like it. There are beauty products with hydrolyzed wheat protein that are being labeled gluten free, but I got the leave in conditioner on my hands and then ate and was glutened bad by it.

I avoid wheat, barley and rye like the plague. I don't care what their testing says. It's bad for me and I don't chance it.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought for a while that I was even being glutened by some wines. How could it possibly be wine? All in my head, I thought. Nope. Tried it again. Same thing. So, a little research revealed that wheat paste is sometimes used to seal barrels. Unless it's "my" tried & true tested label, I don't consume.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I didn't know that about Mike's. I loved those things - but just the first one. They always give (gave) me a headache. I think it's something else - not gluten, because I could drink a beer without a headache before gluten-free.

Now I'm sure it would be gluten :).

Make your own lemonade and spike it. Yum yum!

They're fulla sugar- that'll give you a headache right quick.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I doubt my inexpensive white wine ever saw a barrel sealed with wheat paste. Really, it's one of the celiac myths floating around out there.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Below is the response I received from mikes. Use your best judgement.

---------------------------

Thanks so much for contacting mike

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I still wouldn't touch it. Too scary.

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I doubt my inexpensive white wine ever saw a barrel sealed with wheat paste. Really, it's one of the celiac myths floating around out there.

I've read long threads about this and it seems to be a celiac myth like vinegar.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I've read long threads about this and it seems to be a celiac myth like vinegar.

I think it's easy to dismiss something that hasn't affected you directly as a Celiac myth. I personally have never been glutened by wine. I will never dismiss a report of it happening to someone else though. Our world of information very much relies on anecdotal reports like this. Not to mention the fact that there are SO many winemakers out there, and I have personally seen documentaries showing one particular winemaker sealing their barrels with wheat paste. Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, actually!

As always, it has to be your decision, and you have to investigate any products you choose to use. People with reports of something making them ill should always be welcome here.

3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Below is the response I received from mikes. Use your best judgement.

---------------------------

Thanks so much for contacting mike’s. Good news...you've got it right, the following information applies to all of our products, not just the two lite flavors. Enjoy!

mike’s hard lemonade products available in the United States are lemon malt based beverages (fermented barley beer malt). Highly sensitive tests indicate that mike’s products do not contain any traces of gluten. Our malt beer base is fermented and processed using a highly technical and proprietary, multi stage filtration process which removes all gluten.

Our products were sent to the Food Allergy Research Program at the University of Nebraska, Lincoln to be analyzed using the R5 ELISA test which is currently the industry recognized test for gluten. To be considered gluten free, products must test below 20 ppm (parts per million). In this test one ppm is equal to one milligram of gluten per kilogram of sample. The lowest the R5 ELISA test can quantify is 5 ppm. Our mike’s hard lemonade products tested below the limit of quantification, meaning less than 5 ppm, less than the 20 ppm needed to qualify as gluten free.

Because the R5 ELISA tests cannot quantify below 5 ppm, please consult with your doctor if you are extremely sensitive so the best decision can be made for you in the very slight chance that there would be unquantifiable traces of gluten in the product.

Sincerely,

Eliot

mike’s Consumer Relations

*****************************************

Wasn't there something a while back about a beer that was gluten based, filtered, tested and tested ok but that was only on one type of test? If they tested something else they came up with gluten? I don't want to freak people out at all but am I imagining that thread? Could this be the same type of thing?

EDIT: Ok, this is what I was thinking of.... read down about testing for hordein. http://pubs.acs.org/stoken/presspac/presspac/full/10.1021/pr2008434

1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it's easy to dismiss something that hasn't affected you directly as a Celiac myth. I personally have never been glutened by wine. I will never dismiss a report of it happening to someone else though. Our world of information very much relies on anecdotal reports like this. Not to mention the fact that there are SO many winemakers out there, and I have personally seen documentaries showing one particular winemaker sealing their barrels with wheat paste. Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, actually!

As always, it has to be your decision, and you have to investigate any products you choose to use. People with reports of something making them ill should always be welcome here.

Nobody was made unwelcome. It's a discussion. You say something. I say something. You may disagree. I may disagree. That's fine. If the wine makes you sick don't drink it.

Just as anecdotal accounts can be helpful, you also don't want more restriction on our diets than is necessary. People don't need to be afraid of wine because wheat paste is not a common sealer and even if it's used, it doesn't get into the wine. Wheat would ruin the flavor of the wine.

There have been long discussions about this and consensus is that wine is safe.

Here is an article from a woman who has celiac and used to sell wine barrels.

http://www.thewineclubpours.com/?p=254

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought for a while that I was even being glutened by some wines. How could it possibly be wine? All in my head, I thought. Nope. Tried it again. Same thing. So, a little research revealed that wheat paste is sometimes used to seal barrels. Unless it's "my" tried & true tested label, I don't consume.

That's why I get my wine in a box! LOL

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I thought for a while that I was even being glutened by some wines. How could it possibly be wine? All in my head, I thought. Nope. Tried it again. Same thing. So, a little research revealed that wheat paste is sometimes used to seal barrels. Unless it's "my" tried & true tested label, I don't consume.

I doubt my inexpensive white wine ever saw a barrel sealed with wheat paste. Really, it's one of the celiac myths floating around out there.

I've read long threads about this and it seems to be a celiac myth like vinegar.

Sansurfgirl, my apologies. Perhaps I'm the only one who would interpret this particular statement, and the response to it, as dismissive.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I think it's easy to dismiss something that hasn't affected you directly as a Celiac myth. I personally have never been glutened by wine. I will never dismiss a report of it happening to someone else though. Our world of information very much relies on anecdotal reports like this. Not to mention the fact that there are SO many winemakers out there, and I have personally seen documentaries showing one particular winemaker sealing their barrels with wheat paste. Dirty Jobs with Mike Rowe, actually!

As always, it has to be your decision, and you have to investigate any products you choose to use. People with reports of something making them ill should always be welcome here.

I have no idea if what I feel after drinking alcohal is related to Celiac or not, but I absolutley cannot tolerate any alcohal at all. I have tried and tried..each time, within 15 mins of sipping, I get horrible pains up my back, in my kidneys and I get extremely dizzy,and a whopping headache comes on. This is only after SIPS. So I just finally said Ok, I must be allergic or something. Wine, Beer, Tequila, doesnt matter.

SO, like I said, no idea if its related, but I know I am extremely sensitive to something so I avoid ALL alcohals altogether. I really dont miss it, Ive never been a drinker.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I had reactions to wines also. It seemed to me that the chardonays were the worst, but the red wines also bothered me. In making chardonays they add lots of interesting flavors, using interesting ingredients. I forget what they call it, but sometimes they add a few staves from a whiskey barrel to the chardonay to give it some flavor.

Anyhow, it turned out my real problem with wine wasn't gluten. It was grapes. I finally realized that I react to grapes themselves, in any form. Including raisins, grape juice or wine. Those singing raisins in the underwear commercials really get to me also. Ergh! that's a joke, ha ha. But the grapes are gone from my diet, in any form, and I don't have those problems any more.

0

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
0

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      104,695
    • Total Posts
      921,779
  • Topics

  • Posts

    • Advil (ibuprofen) is gluten-free, but can be a stomach irritant, especially if taken on an empty stomach. That said, I will also place my bet on the garlic and onions. As Raven said, eating more than once a day may also help. An empty stomach is likely to be an irritable stomach.
    • Another link: http://naldc.nal.usda.gov/download/7351/PDF
    • Thanks for posting.  I know it is difficult to talk about these sorts of things even on a webforum.  It is good thing for people to be aware though about celiac disease and that it can cause mental problems.  Gluten can cause brain damage and it can cause anxiety. If the brain does heal it may take a long time. I know that gluten can cause anxiety and obsessive thoughts.  My experience has been similar to your experience. When I first quit eating gluten I had a similar constant loop and strong negative feelings. There are lots of people on this forum who get anxiety when they eat gluten. Some people also experience gluten withdrawl where they experience anxiety after giving up gluten. It can take a long time for the body to heal and for obsessive thoughts to go away.
       It is normal for people to socialize with each other and to be comfortable about it. You said you have problems still socializing and being around people. It might be a depressing thought but it sounds to me like you still have problems with anxiety.  I would recommend considering what options you have available to treat the anxiety. When I quit eating Gluten I still had some symptoms, even though I felt much better. I have been slowly recovering over a period of about three years. I had obsessive thoughts even after I quit eating gluten.  Now I very rarely if at all think about those things. My experience is that my mind would latch on to certain things that caused me anxiety and focus on those things. Sometimes my focus would shift and I would latch onto other things. My ability to socialize has also improved greatly with time. I have made some dietary changes which I believe have helped greatly. It sounds to me like you have obsessive thoughts about things and maybe some brain damage. My experience has been that my obsessive thoughts about different things went away with time. I feel my obsessive thoughts were caused by gluten and not by what people did around me or any events. As my brain healed I became more self aware and things became less stressful.  I can't give medical advice on this forum but I can talk about my current diet and my experience with celiac disease. My experience with gluten is different from a lot of other people so it is a good idea to ask other people and to talk to a doctor.  I avoid oats and avoid almost all processed foods. I buy certified gluten free food. I eat healthy and I exercise every day. I take st John's Wort as I have read studies that say it may be as effective as some other anti-depressants for treating certain types of anxiety. It is available over the counter. I started with a small dosage and then stepped it up over time. I think it helps a lot.  This is also something that you should talk to a doctor about first. https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Martin_Mahoney2/publication/7426926_St._John's_wort/links/540d8acc0cf2f2b29a386673.pdf A lot of people with celiac disease have vitamin deficiencies.  Vitamin b deficiency can cause anxiety. Some people do not process the synthetic form of vitamin b (from normal pills)  very well, and do better on an activated form of vitamin b. I take:
      1 activated vitamin b12 daily
      1 activated vitamin b6 every once in a while. 1 regular vitamin b multivitamin
      1 magnesium pill every day.
      St Johns Wort daily.
      1 zinc vitamin daily
      I drink lots of Chamomile tea and decaf coffee. I avoid most caffeine. 
      I think each of these helps lower my anxiety level.  I eat fruit with every meal. Canned fruit from walmart is cheap and good for you. I eat salad and and vegetables and avoid dairy.  I eat frozen fish often as it has healthy proteins. Eating healthy is very important. I eat potatoes and rice. http://www.livestrong.com/article/454179-what-is-methyl-b12/ I avoid eating soy sauce, soy, cheese, aged meats and fermented foods (I do drink certain types of alcohol in moderate amounts.) These foods contain lots of Tyramine. I might (or might not) have "monoaine oxidase deficiency" and if so high Tyramine foods should be avoided.  I thought I might have problems with elevated ammonia in my blood, but I am not convinced of that anymore. I limited my consumption of meat for a while as well as dairy but I am not sure if i helped.  I have heard that Celiac disease can effect other organs besides the brain and those organs can have an effect on the brain.  My current diet is working so I am going to stick with it for now. I try not to worry about things that are outside of my control. Be patient as it took me a long time to recover.  Let me know if you have any questions. There is a lot of information on this site and people who are willing to help.
       
    • Thank you. This is really helpful. I will call around next week.  I just want to heal! 
    • My endoscopy showed i had decreased folds in my duodenum. The biopsy came back and showed that my villi were fine... i have been on a gluten free diet for 6 years because i was just told i was intolerant but never had any testing before. when i eat gluten i get sick for 2 weeks. i came down with issues of other foods in march so they were trying to figure out why and wanted to know if i had celiac are not because that would explain why dairy and fructose are a problem.. both intolerant test for both were negative but the fructose test made me extremely sick but it was negative...      Im trying to figure out why i have decreased  folds in the first place. my Gi doctor is stumped on that to why the endoscopy would show damage but the under the microscope are fine. She is going to call the dr who did my scope and then is supposed to get back to  me..    would being gluten free for 6 year make it so there was damage and then my vili are now fine but still cant be seen in the endoscope?
  • Upcoming Events

  • Blog Entries

  • Recent Status Updates

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      61,701
    • Most Online
      3,093

    Newest Member
    Dtroutmann
    Joined