This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com!
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Problem With Symptoms, Yet Gf. Please Help, Guys.

LLCoolJD

LLCoolJD Newbie

Hi everyone. I've been a lurker here for a while, but had to post so I registered earlier tonight.

I had celiac-like symptoms starting in freshman year of college (the year after a prolonged period of antibiotic use, and around the time I think I got hit with mono....go figure). The symptoms slowly got worse until I decided to go on a gluten-free diet after I graduated (at the end of college, I had massive gas, stool consistency was deteriorating rapidly, and even had one small accident at night, which was disturbing and upsetting to say the least). I have never been formally diagnosed (it runs in the family) with Celiac disease (I'm getting a full workup later this month).

Anyway. I went gluten-free at the beginning of this year, and felt better. Tried pizza to test my system, and BOOM, bad symptoms. So a self-diagnosis, if you will. Later accidental ingestions also made noticable problems.

Cut to present day. I am getting symptoms of gluten, even though I'm gluten free, and limit my lactose intake to almost nothing (half and half with my coffee, and the odd bit of Lindt chocolate). I'm *positive* that I'm gluten free (unless Crest toothpaste has gluten).